We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Miles Better Pies

Miles Better Pies
Ranked #1 of 2 Bakeries in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Fast Food, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I was really looking forward to these pies and was very disappointed. The venison Pie was full of gristly meat - no excuse for that; the chicken pie was full of creamy gunk. The pastry was okay. It doesn't deserve the high ratings it seems to attract

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SAFTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    199
    68
    25
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't eat anything else at Te Anau”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The pies are so delicious and varied (e.g. bacon and egg pie!) - and the sausage rolls are pretty good too. Tell anyone travelling to or through Te Anau about this pie shop - our enjoyment of the town itself was highly related to the moment we discovered this place!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Heaven!!!”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Amazing pies! The best ones we tried during our trip to NZ
Our kids loved them! Staff was friendly and helpful with directions.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jason V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great food on the go...”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is a very tiny hole-in-the-wall place serving good sandwiches, pies, shakes and coffees. There are some reviews raving about the pies here; they are good, but cant really say they are out of this world! But food is cheap, yummy and sizable portions. The owner/staff is also very friendly. Will certainly stop by the next time we are there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BABSBINI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best meat pies during our NZ trip”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We ordered the venison and steak pies which were filled with big chunks of tender, juicy meat. This was our gourmet pie experience in New Zealand. The owner stayed opened for us while he heated up our pies and chatted with us. Thank you.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank VoyageurOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miles Better Pies also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Miles Better Pies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing