We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Friendly, fabulous and fantastic”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of SOU'WEST COTTAGE

Welcome to Sou'West Cottage. Private, warm and comfortable.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Sou'West Cottage. Private, warm and comfortable.
Kitchen with Kettle, toaster, microwave, electric frying pan, coffee plunger, tea pot. Kitchen area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Welcome to Sou'West Cottage. Private, warm and comfortable.
Kitchen with Kettle, toaster, microwave, electric frying pan, coffee plunger, tea pot.
Kitchen area
Super king comfortable and warm bed. Can also be split into 2 singles if requested
Comfortable leather lounge suite
Dining area and TV
Morning sun streaming in to the lounge. Lovely garden views.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, Southland Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Elena H
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly, fabulous and fantastic”
Reviewed March 6, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This place was fabulous. We had delightful stay in this retreat. After a after a long day travelling from Queenstown and visiting the sound this place was a wonderful surprise tucked a short distance outside of town . Sascha was a wonderful hostess. Her cottage was new and clean ( suitable for any allergy sufferer) had a very comfortable couch to relax in and out outdoor setting to enjoy the country side along with refreshing snack and cool drink. She has amazing local knowledge and I look forward to a hike with her next time as she has amazing local knowledge. Must also mention the amaaaaazing super king size bed . Pity we didn't stay longer.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirgittaG...
1 review
“Friendly”
Reviewed March 6, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Perfect and so welcoming! We stayed for 3 nights and could have been longer! Couldn't be better! Birgitta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnH6185
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed March 3, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

After a long drive through southern NZ, welcomed with a cold beer (or 2 ) in the fridge, perfect... Situated a couple of mins drive out of Te Anau in relaxing rural setting, thoroughly recommended place to stay for Milford Sound trips or general Te Anau exploring...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 9, 2017
Thanks John ,we appreciate your positive feedback and business
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U1934WKth...
Lake Como, Italy
2 reviews
“Superb cottage accomodation in beautiful spot just outside Te Anau.”
Reviewed March 2, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The Macrae family host this charming cottage on the property of their house in beautiful Te Anau within stunning Fjordland. We arrived in Te Anau after a very long day traveling from Queenstown to catch a 10.30 am tour to Doubtful Sound. We were greeted warmly by Sacha and her two great kids, Connor and Kelsey. The whole place has a superbly warm and family feel about it complete with the many animals (2 dogs, 2 cats, 2 horses and 2 sheep) which the kids keenly introduced to us. The house is well equipped, clean and very beautifully designed. Sacha had left a couple of (much appreciated) beers in the fridge as well as complimentary breakfast for the following morning. We slept very soundly after looking out at the incredible stars from the bedroom. This is a real jewel in Te Anau and very highly recommended. We were just sad we could only stay for one night but we hope to be back soon!!!!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S
Mangerton
2 reviews
“Welcomed with a cold beer!”
Reviewed March 2, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We experienced every different kind of accommodation while travelling in NZ and this would have to be one of our favourite places. Sacha & Gareth made us feel so welcome and their pride and passion for their cabin was totally infectious. Before we arrived Sacha and Gareth kindly provided us with a myriad of suggestions for activities to undertake in the local area, highlighting the less crowded options. We were welcomed with a couple of complimentary cold beers in the fridge and then delightfully surprised a couple of days later when Gareth cooked us local fresh crayfish. The cabin itself was extremely private and thoughtfully laid out, with the most comfortable bed we experienced all trip. Although we were initially worried that the cabin was "out of town", this proved to be a bonus as it was so peaceful. We strongly recommend this place and will hopefully be back!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 9, 2017
Thanks Julie ,really good to meet you and Bruce ,happy you enjoyed your stay here,might see you here on your return
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing