We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious surroundings in quiet location”
Review of Alpine View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alpine View Motel
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
GreenLeadersGold level
New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Spacious surroundings in quiet location”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

This motel is one street back from the lake which allows for a quiet stay. The outside area is large and very suitable for families. Although rooms are of an older era, they are large and clean.
Staff extremely helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rog4NewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    57
    27
    13
    9
See reviews for
43
71
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Thank you very much for the great stay. Your rooms are well arranged and very tidy. The staff were all very friendly and we enjoyed the spacious grounds for our family. Well done and keep up the good work.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimmy12_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed two night in this nice motel, one street away from the lakefront. We got the corner unit on the 2nd floor which was great. The unit was spacious, very clean, all the amenities you can think of, etc. The host gave us good recommendations and she was very nice. The wifi was limited but free, perfect for checking your emails and doing a bit of Facebook! Each unit had a designated parking spot that is a nice touch.

Bottom line: you can find a lakefront motel with a nice view or you can save $$$ by choosing this great motel at a third of the price and walk 1 minute to get to the lake!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NebuCad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
361 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Really good spacious units. Well equipped. Very friendly and helpful host. We had had a very long day and very very tired. Unfortunately early evening a group of youngsters starting drinking and getting noisy. I asked if we could be moved to a quieter unit but they were fully booked. We were very impressed, as the host kept an eye on them, and asked them to be quiet etc and we slept well. Full credit to her, and we were very grateful as another long drive the next day and needed the sleep! Lovely area - would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

A little dated, concerned at old stained carpet in bathroom and the idea of a mat in the toilet *yuk*. Also not having duva covers on raised a few eyebrows, how many potential bare backsides go near them before they are washed ! Now on the very positive side the service was fantastic, totally beyond reproach, it made our 2 nights as the base for Milford Sound just perfect. Price was just right.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi_Travellers3204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed in an Upstairs Studio room at Alpine View Motel in Te Anau. We loved it there. Owner/Manager Illeana was so friendly and helpful. The Studio was spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. Everything we needed had been provided. We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nights there. Would definitely recommend it to other travellers.

Room Tip: We had Room #10 but I would think all rooms would be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Alpine View Motel in Te Anau and Illeana really looked after us. She provided us with a great room, a very clean room, and at a great rate. Illeana also provided us with lots of information on attractions in the area, where to eat and what to do. While in Te Anau we were planning a trip to Milford Sound; however, due to an avalanche on the road to Milford Sound all tours had been cancelled. Illeana then went to work finding out if we could obtain tickets on a tour of Doubtful Sound; however, we went to bed believing that we would miss out. Bright and early the next morning Illeana was knocking on our door to say that she had secured two tickets if we were still interested. We found out at the end of the day that the tour operator hadn't called Alpine View, Illeana had been chasing them on our behalf, the service was more than we expected. As for the tour, it was absolutely fantastic and we had a great day, great photos, the day could not have been better. We really have Illeana to thank for such a great stay, the tour tickets, we would have been so disappointed if we had travelled so far and not been able to go to at least one of the 'Sounds'. In fact Doubtful Sound was a highlight of our two week tour of the south island, so if you find yourself at the Alpine View, spend the money and take in a tour of Doubtful Sound, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djmartin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
492 reviews
0.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.3 mi away
ASURE Amber Court Motel
ASURE Amber Court Motel
#9 of 23 in Te Anau
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine View Motel

Property: Alpine View Motel
Address: 15 Quintin Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alpine View Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine View Motel is situated in a quiet location 150m from the lakefront of Te Anau. The main shopping Center, Restaurants, Movie Theatre, library and Sports Stadium are a 5 minute walk through a lovely park. We offer a selection of self contained, warm and comfortable studio, 1, 2 & 3 bedroom units with King, Queen or Single beds and have lake view and access units also available. Wireless internet is available in each room. We provide 12 channels of Freeview and Sky TV. We have a spacious guest's laundry with a free internet kiosk available in the laundry only. We have a great children's play area complete with trampoline (in ground), see-saw, swings, slide and a big climbing castle as well as a huge field for cricket and other activities. A guest barbecue and spacious gardens will entertain the adults while the children are busy at the playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Alpine View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine View Motel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing