We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant trip”
Review of Real Journeys

Real Journeys
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Our one-day small-group guided walk of the first section of the internationally-acclaimed Milford Track starts with a short coach drive, then a one-hour scenic cruise of Lake Te Anau. The walk sets off to historic Glade House, then crosses a swing bridge over the Clinton River into ancient beech forest. Your nature guide will explain the track's history and point out native birds and plants. Easy walking track (4 - 5hrs, approx. 9 - 11kms return). Lunch and hot drinks provided. Departs: Te Anau
Northampton
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Brilliant trip”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We did the whole day trip to Doubtful Sound and would thoroughly recommend it. The trip takes in a sail across Lake Manapouri, then a coach journey over Wilmot Pass. It includes a visit to the hydroelectric scheme deep inside the mountain -like something from a James Bond movie and very interesting. Once at Doubtful Sound you board the lovely catamaran for a three hour cruise Down the sound. Fortunately for us the weather was amazing with clear blue skies so the boat took us right out to the Tasmin sea where we saw seals and albatross. The scenery is just beautiful and at one point the captain turned off the engines and asked everyone to be silent for a couple of minutes and it was a really beautiful experience. The staff are really fantastic - very friendly and knowledgeable and the commentary is really interesting and informative. There is free tea and coffee on board which is a nice touch and the option to book a packed lunch in advance. Our host advised us to get our packed lunch from the Sub shop in Te Anu before we left which was good advice and saved a bit of cash. On reflection, this was one of the highlights of our trip to New Zealand and I would thoroughly recommend it

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheilanorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    23
    9
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reno, NV, USA
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great walk but avoid Wednesday”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is an easy-to moderate walk two miles into the Milford Track with a side trip up to Glade Burn and back to the boat dock. Lunch at Glade House is provided - we had soup, sandwich and cookies. That's just about right for a few hours of walking. Our guide was Hanna and she shared her enthusiasm and knowledge of the area.

The highlight of the trip for us was the side trip up to Glade Burn - an icy, completely clear stream that we had all to ourselves (well, all six of us). On the way down the trail, following a dry stream bed, we came across a wood pigeon - not at all what we think of when we say "pigeon"!

On Wednesday, the day we were there, helicopters resupply the three lodges on the trail. The noise detracts from the experience so, if your travel plans allow, try to avoid Wednesday.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen Evans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Doubtful Sound O/night Cruise”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

A unique experience. Bus from Te Anau, fast Cat across the lake, then a fun bus ride to the boat. Very relaxing cruise, so quiet, so many beautiful views. Great crew, friendly and helpful. Not cheap, but you see and do a lot in that time.
Would like to have had the option of touring the Power Station as well, seeing as how were already there.
Pre-ordering a packed lunch to eat on the ferry was convenient and worthwhile. Don't carry too much luggage, just an overnight bag.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Austenette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good fun trip”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Took trip from Te Anau, joining coach that started in Queenstown. Amusing commentary fro driver en route, but irritated that we missed The Chasm because we were short of time. Cruise was also good, on a beautifully sunny day

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank WeeJohnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice intro to the Milford Track”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Our guide Richard was very good--knowledgeable, informative, and courteous. The provided lunch at Glade House was tasty and sufficient. We chose this guided hike instead of doing a day hike independently because we didn't have a car (we were taking the bus around the island). We were concerned about transportation and didn't want to have a gap of time waiting for TrackNet to pick us up at Te Anau Downs after the hike. We envisioned standing there battling sandflies (we saw very few if any that day as it turned out). However, if someone has a car, we would recommend doing this day hike on your own, driving to Te Anau Downs and taking the boat across and back for the hike. We felt frustrated hiking with the group which had some very slow people in it. We would've enjoyed hiking at a faster pace and going farther. Of course, you have to time yourself so that you don't miss the boat, but that seems entirely doable. Aside from that, Real Journeys was very professionally run, and very good for what they offer.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank travelmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Real Journeys also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Manapouri, Southland Region
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Real Journeys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing