We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Te Anau

“Food”
Review of The Fat Duck

The Fat Duck
Ranked #6 of 36 Restaurants in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Cosy, inviting atmosphere serving great local cuisine, coffee and drinks.
Reviewed January 21, 2020 via mobile

Food was lovely. We had the Fish n Chips from the bar, as we couldn't get into the restaurant side, not disappointing was just lovely. Might have to book to get a seat in the restaurant, as it was busy

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Dawn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 40 of 1,561 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2020 via mobile

What a great place! I first have to congratulate the staff. The place was very busy when we visited - and they have plenty of tables - but the service was friendly and efficient. We were seated, orders taken, drinks and food arrived promptly - the whole place clearly running like a well-oiled machine.

And the food was excellent. We made up a meal of a range of small plates and meals - pate, salt and pepper squid, venison ribs, mussels, polenta chips and salad. All great, with the standouts the mussels and ribs.

It’s probably a good idea to book in high season. We were lucky to get one of the last unreserved tables. Go and enjoy!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank kyliee440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2020 via mobile

Ladies and Gentlemen of The Fat Duck. May I congratulate you of having in my opinion the BEST Food in New Zealand. I have eaten over the past month in many restaurants in the North and South Island and found that the Venison Medallions which I enjoyed and the Lamb Salad my wife had where a delight. The meat was cooked to perfection, the accompaniments tasty, the Jus mouthwatering and the presentation exceeded all expectations. THANK YOU ALL.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank michaelhS8545PW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2020 via mobile

Good dinner options, reasonable prices. Nice cocktails too. Breakfast hash browns were a favourite for our table!

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank KellyB6016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2020 via mobile

We had very nice lunch food amazing and the service was very good and helpful lamb salad very fresh and tasty thanks for all the team we definitely come back

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank gffjte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fat Duck also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to The Fat Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing