We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner wanted after a big day”
Review of The Fat Duck

The Fat Duck
Ranked #6 of 41 Restaurants in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $27
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Cosy, inviting atmosphere serving great local cuisine, coffee and drinks.
Reviewed May 29, 2018 via mobile

Great food, friendly staff and comfortable surroundings.
After a big day into Milford Sound we wanted a hearty meal to warm us up without the fuss of fine dining. Well done Fat Duck. You gave us just that.
Loved the food choices, they hit the spot.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Karen19092014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 128 of 1,250 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2018 via mobile

We arrived on a mid week evening to find the whole place extremely busy, despite not booking, we were found seats in the bar, offered drinks and informed a table would be available in 30 mins.
The food was excellent and the service left the perfect amount of time between each course.
A highly recommended visit if stopping in the town.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank 498caroliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2018 via mobile

We have visited The Fat Duck for Dinner we have ordered the green lipped mussels for starter and they were unseasoned and bland. We did not comment at first as we thought it was a fluke.

For main course we took the fettuccini which in my opinion were not cooked up to standard the fettuccini were overcooked, the red sauce was bland and the shrimps tasteless.

I have returned the fettucini however the chef disagreed and still insisted that they were cooked to perfection. If that’s perfect I do not know how they cook the rest of the food.

I was still charged 50% for the fettucini even though i returned it.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Darrenmerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2018 via mobile

Very friendly staff with a good selection of local wines and beers. The food was also good, and there was a variety of bar snacks and meals.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Mark Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2018 via mobile

For lunch I had the Seafood Chowder, the best I have ever had. The portion size was excellent and the various type of seafood were abundant. This chowder is a must have.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Guide774571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fat Duck also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to The Fat Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing