We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great comfort food after a great walk” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fat Duck

The Fat Duck
Ranked #6 of 34 Restaurants in Te Anau
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: European, Gastropub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Cosy, inviting atmosphere serving great local cuisine, coffee and drinks.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great comfort food after a great walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

We came out of the Routeburn track pretty sick of instant noodles and camp food, so we were so happy to find that this restaurant had good comfort food. The wedges with cheese and bacon with sweet chili sauce was the bomb! The seafood chowder as well was chunky with lots of seafood (they didn't hold back). The service was great and there was also free wifi.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank luckywillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    345
    103
    31
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Te Anau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good friendly service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Came here with 2 friends. The service was excellent and friendly. The waitresses were always cheerful. But the food was just ordinary...

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KowloonAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“appatiser good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

I had the duck spring rolls for starters and I must say they were very good, Unfortunately the main which was monk fish wasn't fantastic it was well overcooked and dry, my partner had the gnocchi and she said it was good but nothing amazing. The waitress we had was really lovely so that's the reason it gets a better than average review.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank noel-and-claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

The peppered squid was like a rock I think someone said free beer and the chef took off and forgot to remove it from the fire.
Had to have a steak sandwich and boy was it nice.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mallow, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

The review in the lonely planet suggested the food was great but felt it was fairly forgettable. My girlfriend and me had the fat duck burger which had a nice meat paddy but lacked salad and was a bit boring. My mum had the pasta which was ok also. The service was good and despite the typical "speights" range of beers on tap, still had a good selection of macs beers in the bottle.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JB999_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fat Duck also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to The Fat Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing