We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and excellent food choices”
Review of The Fat Duck

The Fat Duck
Ranked #6 of 34 Restaurants in Te Anau
Price range: $7 - $29
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Cosy, inviting atmosphere serving great local cuisine, coffee and drinks.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great service and excellent food choices”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We went to the restaurant on both nights of our stay. The small plates were very tasty and perfectly sized for sharing and the specials - duck breast and venison for my wife, salmon and blue cod for me, were inventive, well cooked and seasoned and beautifully presented. Service was good and the place had a very friendly vibe.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Underwater48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    367
    108
    32
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Te Anau
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Beer battered chips..mmm”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I love that its a restaurant, but yet I can just walk in and have coffee and something from the bar menu. Always brilliant. The beer battered chips are delicious, with lots of garlic aoli.
The meals are pricey, but saying that.. good quality and good size meals.
Never lets me down.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LynneTeAnau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Venison was Awesome”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We recently dined here on holiday and had venison which was cooked perfectly. It was a bit pricy but well worth it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cherie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and good, homely food”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Friendly staff delivered good quality food in reasonable time frames. The bangers and mash were a hit with my spouse. The fancy hot chocolate was very nice. The large breakfast was tasty and filling. All in all, I'd recommend eating here. The coffee was good too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittlesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
291 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Variable Food”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had an evening meal here and found it to be ok but no better. The 'flat bread' came out the size of a stuffed crust pizza! Service was ok but not outstanding. In fairness we did eat breakfast here on our last day there (it was the nearest place to us) & that was very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rogita180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fat Duck also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to The Fat Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing