We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fat Duck

The Fat Duck
Ranked #6 of 34 Restaurants in Te Anau
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: European, Gastropub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Cosy, inviting atmosphere serving great local cuisine, coffee and drinks.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

The service is fast, wifi is free, and yes, the food is great too.

We had breakfast here, and the portions were so large that we didn't need to eat lunch later. Worked out well for us because we were driving around for the rest of the day! But yes, if you are dieting, you better watch out.

Their bacon is probably the best in town. Good thing they serve it with many of the dishes.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank intrepid2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    349
    104
    31
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome Steak!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We had to wait for about 15min to get a table as they were busy. No worries as we sat in the bar and relaxed with a drink. Meals are not the cheapest but, certainly well worth the wait (and cost). I had one of the best steaks I've ever had. A great meal.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Meat chowder??”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you are going to piut meat in you seafood chowder, please put it on the menu!! When we raised this with the waitress, 1) the manager ducked for cover and lef it to the waitress to sort out, 2) best of all, the waitress told us that the meat made it very tasty and one of the best chowders she had ever had...Sorry but even if thats true, non meat eaters have the right to know what is in there!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MRB19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We loved the restaurant and had two meals there. The first was dinner and then lunch the next day. The food is fantastic. The helpings are huge so go hungry otherwise you will not be able to finish your helping.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harriet590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good local restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Had the pork belly and was surprised by the size of the serving - two large pieces and it was delicious although it could've benefited from being drained on kitchen paper before serving. Was quite a busy night, but food came out quite quickly and the staff were friendly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marg173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fat Duck also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to The Fat Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing