We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality High Standard Motel for a remote location”
Review of Bay Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stewart Island
Certificate of Excellence
wellington
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Quality High Standard Motel for a remote location”
Reviewed February 11, 2009

Paid $NZ1200 for 6 nights in the downstairs apartment at the Bay Motel in Stewart Island.

The price offered good value for a town that has an image of high prices. The apartment, albeit without views, was spacious, with two decent bedrooms, a large fully functioning kitchen, an excellent bathroom with a great shower, a decent washing machine (but no clothes dryer), effective user controlled heating throughout the apartment, double glazing (a legal requirement), wheel-chair accessible, and a spacious lounge/dining area with good seating.

Very clean and presented well - got the feeling that we were the only people who had ever stayed there, even though it is 5 years old.

Issues:
- moteliers forgot to pick us up at the plane depot on our initial arrival. For some reason they assumed we on the the ferry that arrived 60 min later.
- moteliers put us in the non-view, downstairs apartment even though the upstairs apartment was empty for the first 3 days, and when it was filled, the customers only stayed for 3 days. I'd specifically asked to be upstairs, so not sure why they insisted on putting us downstairs. (in fairness however, the downstairs got the outdoors evening sun, which the upstairs apartment did not). When raised with owners on arrival they said they'd look into us being upstairs - they never followed that up.
- the downstairs apartment was a bit noisy from people walking about in the upstairs apartment.
- the washing machine lint filters appeared to have not been emptied in years - was an icky task for me to do!

  • Liked — Central, modern accomodation
  • Disliked — Not being picked up on arrival, and being put in a view-free apartment, when upstairs apartment free (with view)
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kzw4nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    47
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
23
112
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2009

We stayed for two nights at the Bay Motel, the owner collected us from the ferry and gave us a quick overview of the town on our way to the Motel. Our room was spacious, well equipped and had a view over the town to the water. Easy walking distance to everything. There were two minor niggles for us though, the fan in the bathroom, ran noisily for 7 minutes each time you turned the light on, as there was no natural light in the bathroom, at night I had to resort to a torch so I didn't wake others in the room. Also the entrance door to the unit was glass and did not have a curtain and with other guests and staff walking past you often felt like they could see in. These things aside I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone, staff were friendly and helpful, and rooms were extremely clean and well cared for.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kahyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2008

We spent 6 nights at this lovely motel at Stewart Island. Having previously stayed at other accommodation on the Island charging a similar rate, this motel was excellent value. We enjoyed the cooking facilities, feeding the kakas on our balcony, and made the most of the wonderful views. Excellent standard of cleanliness, decor, and personal service. Just when we thought the service couldn't be improved, we phoned the day after our departure to ask if we had left a pair of sunglasses behind, only to find they had already been dispatched to us by post. Thanks so much again, we will no doubt be back.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Going home
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gattyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a large group. Our room was spotless and spacious, and opened onto a deck with a lovely view of the bay. We noticed the chimney mentioned in another review, but it hardly ruined the outlook!
We found the management efficient and friendly, and their van was always available to ferry us around.
We loved the island, and would have no hesitation in returning.

  • Liked — Magnificent view and convenience
  • Disliked — we had to leave!
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2008

Hotels are at a premium on the Island, however this place is very comfortable.

The Bay Motel is a 5 min walk from all the facilities in Half Moon Bay, its clean, modern and the host even picks you up from the ferry terminal (even though you can walk it just as fast).

The island is a must for nature lovers, take a trip to ulva island, walk up to the lighthouse, watch the penguins come to bed or just watch the birds from the balcony, a truly inspiring place.

While the Bay Motel will not win any awards, its the island you come to see and after a long day walking all you need is a bath and a clean room with a nice bed and the Bay motel delivers this on all fronts.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donnyknitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2007

We stayed here for 4 nights in March 2007.

The location is good, looking out over (much of) Oban and the bay. It’s about a 5 – 10 minute walk to the wharf, which is where most activities start. Some pleasant walks start close to the motel.

Motel/hotel type accommodation is at a premium on Stewart Island and there is little choice so the price was reasonable under the circumstances. We paid $150 for a modern, clean, comfortable studio room with a full kitchen which would have accommodated up to three people.

On the mainland we would have got more for our money but the relative
remoteness of the location is sure to put prices up.

Our helpful but unintrusive host picked us up and dropped us off at the ferry, gave us some good advice about and booked some activities for us.

Stewart Island is a wild and wonderful destination which can be accessed either by air from Invercargill or by fast ferry (an hour) from Bluff. We chose the latter option, a good job since all the flights were grounded by fog the day we travelled.

The island has walks of varying lengths as well as cruises and opportinities for wildlife watching. We would particularly recommend Ulva’s Island Tours. Her amazing knowledge of the local environment is matched by her boundless enthusiasm.

  • Liked — Location on Stewart Island. Kakas (parrots) on the balcony
  • Disliked — Walls are thin and you can hear other people even if they're not being very noisy!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank LawrenceUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2007

This motel was the worst place I stayed in during 4 weeks travel in NZ. I chose it based on its advertised beach views and friendly hospitality. However our view to the beach was obstructed by a massive telegraph pole, wires and a communication system for the fire station. On the date of our departure the motel manager offered to give us a lift to our plane flight. However 1 hour prior to the time she was going to take us she phoned me in our room and barked orders that we vacate the room immediately. She was unbelievably rude and uncompromising and proceeded to dump myself, my friend and my 18 month old baby and all our luggage out into the freezing cold wind and rain of Stewart Island rather than let us remain indoors until the time came for us to leave for our plane. She was uncompromising, very rude and unbelievably lacking in compassion. She was more interested in quoting her rule book about check out time and whining about her health than helping her guests. She even boasted about how she had thrown her other guests out into the wind and rain for 4 hours longer than us !!!! To top it off she then attempted to overcharge me for the room by $45! Apart from this our experience in NZ was brilliant, with very friendly and accommodating motel managers. This one was terrible. Do yourself a favour and find somewhere more welcoming and honest to stay in Stewart Island.

  • Disliked — Shower leaked everywhere, overpriced laundry facilities
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Naturelover99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bevisland, Owner. at Bay Motel, responded to this review, August 9, 2007
There are always to sides to every story, and this is one of those stories!! When you compare this review to others, it is easy to see this is the odd one out.
This girl did not have the manners to ask for late check out, just assuming she could have the use of the room until her departure time from the island. She went walking precisely at check out time returning 1 hour later, so how can she say she was 'dumped ' out in the freezing cold wind & rain - she had already been out in it not 10 minutes prior!! And all had been out walking in much worse weather during her stay. Luggage was not dumped, but delivered to the flight depot, as I do with all guests travelling by plane. I pointed out to her that some guests have 4-5 hours to fill in before their departure and they arrange their activities accordingly.
As for the pole in her view. It is 1 pole midway between the motels and the beach. Hellooo!!
All guests are treated to a great island experience and I welcome travellers this coming season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stewart Island hotels
0.1 mi away
South Sea Hotel
South Sea Hotel
#3 of 3 in Stewart Island
201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kaka Retreat Motel - Stewart Island
0.1 mi away
Stewart Island Backpackers
Stewart Island Backpackers
#4 of 9 in Stewart Island
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Anchorstone
Anchorstone
#5 of 9 in Stewart Island
22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sails Ashore Lodge
Sails Ashore Lodge
#6 of 8 in Stewart Island
24 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilltop Backpackers Stewart Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Motel

Property: Bay Motel
Address: 9 Dundee Street | Halfmoon Bay, Stewart Island 9846, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Stewart Island
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stewart Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay Motel is located in the center of Halfmoon Bay, Stewart Island & has glorious ocean views from more than half of our units. We are no more than 500 meters walk to all of the restaurants, shops & transport (Plane & Ferry) terminals in the township. Bay Motel complex is made up of 13 modern, quality serviced units - 10 studios, 1 & 2 bedroom units and a 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom luxury apartment. We also have a laundry, courtyard & covered BBQ available for guests use. ~Courtesy transfers on arrival and departure ~2 units & the Apartment have double spa baths ~2 units are wheelchair friendly ~Fully equipped kitchenettes ~Central heating ~Sky TV, telephone and free wireless internet ~Guest laundry, freezer storage, BBQ ~Portable cot, high-chair & buggy ~Continental breakfast available ($12 per person) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Bay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Motel Stewart Island, South Island
Bay Hotel Stewart Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing