We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Cottage near the bush”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Port Of Call

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stewart Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Port Of Call
Yorba Linda, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Nice Cottage near the bush”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

We stayed in The Bach, which is a cottage, fully equiped for self-catering. It includes use of a car to get to the center of Oban, about 5km away. The location is very quiet and pleasant. It is next to the trailhead to Acker's Point, where after dark you can hear the returning Sooty Shearwaters (Muttonbirds) calling and see the Little Blue Penguins returning to their nests. The cottage is very comfortable and modern, but simple. If you're looking for a 5-star hotel and restaurant, you won't find it on Stewart Island. The island is more of a remote outpost in a native New Zealand forest - the antithesis of cosmopolitan and sophisticated Queenstown. If you won't be satisfied with rustic surroundings and simple food, stay in Queenstown. We enjoyed it thoroughly! The nightime kiwi spotting tour with Bravo Adventures, where we were able to observe 4 wild kiwi foraging for food, was excellent. The pelagic birding trip with Rakiura Charters was stunning - we saw 3 varieties of albatross (Southern Royal, Salvin's, and White-capped) flying and in the water, really magnificent sights, as well as many other birds, including a couple of penguins, and many fur seals. We also did a pleasant and informative walk on Ulva Island with Ulva's Guided Walks. Well worth the trip, if these are the activities you enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winelover_943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
35
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
278 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

If you are looking for the Hilton then you have come to the wrong place! Turner Cottage is a private perfect bush retreat/romantic honeymoon cottage, yet only 5 minutes walk from waterfront and shops.

Location: An easy Five minutes’ walk down to the pub, shops, restaurants, wharf & waterfront of Oban Township.

Privacy: Quiet with no other properties in view Turner Cottage is surrounded by bush abounding in native birds with a north facing sunny deck.

Ambiance & Quality: The cottage has been completely renovated and looks brand-new with quality bathroom fittings, a very comfortable bed, very functional fully equipped kitchen, delightful lounge with flat screen TV and leather upholstered furniture.

Recommendation: Ideal with those looking for a private hideaway and/or romantic holiday. Perfect for an extended stay and do make sure that you stay long enough to enjoy all that Stewart Island has to offer the most discerning visitor.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

Ian and Pip treated us like invited guests rather than paying customers.
The Bach was spotlessly clean, comfortable, and well appointed. The fantastic views and the weka walking around made it memorable.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK/Austria
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2011

We stayed at "The Bach", a wonderful cottage with a stylish yet comfortable interior and very well equipped for self catering. Recently built, the cottage occupies an outstanding location bordering woodland. The Bach is a few miles from Oban which is why the cottage comes with a car option which we'd recommend for ease of access (amenities, the wharfs, start of walks, etc) As is often the case, what gives the place extra flavour and authenticity are its owners, Philippa & Ian Wilson, who were extremely friendly and helpful. We came away with a high regard for their commitment to sustainabiliity and conservation whilst running a business. Ian's family has been on the Stewart Island for many generations and the couple own a historic site. Ian also runs a boating operation/water taxi which we booked on several occasions. Their main house nearby, 'Port of Call' is also a B+B, and is simply stunning (what a view!). We had the best of times and hope to return some day.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gkbUK-Austria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
194 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

We stayed at 'Turner Cottage' just up Golden Bay Rd, only 5 mins walk (uphill!) from the 'city' centre. The cottage has everything you could need. The linen, appliances, decor everything was well chosen and of excellent quality. The fitout was contemporary yet in keeping with the area. We spent 4 nights over New Year at the cottage. The birdlife was amazing - we had 5 Kaka's come visit us, as well as Tui's, Bellbirds ... Philippa and Ian are great people - talented, friendly and have the gift of making the most of what they have and of creating beautiful environments for their guests. We're going back in June. We had mostly good weather whilst we were there. We did the Maori Beach walk and the Fern Gully walk. We spent a day on Ulva Island where we came across Weka's, Saddlebacks, Kaka's etc.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissBossyBoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2010

Having stayed in some stunning B&B's / cottages on North and South Island, this cottage suffered by comparison. With the woodburner roaring the cottage is cosy enough, and it has decent kitchen / washing facilities, but the furnishings and finish are a bit too rustic. Some may say that this is part and parcel of Stewart Island and it's unspoilt charm, or falsely high expectations based on mainland experience - whichever, we were disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuttonHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2009

We spent three nights at The Bach; our goal was to rest and relax, and this is the perfect place, quiet and peaceful. Tha Bach is really nice, but we couldn't hardly find pictures of it before booking. A pity. If our hosts had more good pictures of the Bach, I am pretty sure that they would have more guests... I attach some pics we took to share with Tripadvisor visitors. Use of a car included. To sum up, we are really DELIGHTED... We'll definetely come back!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pedro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stewart Island hotels
1.0 mi away
South Sea Hotel
South Sea Hotel
#3 of 3 in Stewart Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bay Motel
Bay Motel
#1 of 3 in Stewart Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kaka Retreat Motel - Stewart Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Stewart Island Backpackers
Stewart Island Backpackers
#3 of 9 in Stewart Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sails Ashore Lodge
Sails Ashore Lodge
#6 of 8 in Stewart Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anchorstone
Anchorstone
#5 of 9 in Stewart Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Of Call? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Of Call

Property: Port Of Call
Address: 63 Leask Bay Rd, Stewart Island 9846, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Stewart Island
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Stewart Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Of Call can offer you three unique options in accommodation. Port Of Call B&B is a gorgeous seaside home, amongst 20 acres of native forest. Wake up to bird song, spectacular sea views and the smell of coffee and croissants. The Bach is a self-catering cottage close to Port Of Call. Tucked in native forest with abundant bird life and sea views, the Bach is a place where you can completely unwind.Turner Cottage is a newly refurbished self-catering cottage nestled in the heart of Halfmoon Bay. It's a charming and romantic place for the perfect honeymoon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Port Of Call Stewart Island, South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing