We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveler rating
126
26
5
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
26
5
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews real journeys steep hill other guests new zealand dressing room views are amazing comfortable rooms continental breakfast great knowledge isn't cheap wet room your luggage half moon bay yogurt the perfect place to stay kitchen facilities breakfast table
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 167 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2015

We spent 2 nights at the lodge. Staff were most accommodating from pick up to & from the ferry including our stay. Suggested places to eat, activities & great breakfast. It is a walk up the hill but so worth the view. Rooms are most comfortable with a deck to sit & enjoy the sentry of the bay.

Date of stay: January 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Elkridgeestates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real_Journeys, Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2015

elkridgeestates, Thanks for posting us a 5-star review. Glad you enjoyed the amazing view. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards Stewart Island Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2015 via mobile

The lodge sits atop a very steep hill with all of the action being at the bottom of the hill. The WIFI did NOT reach our room, but was available in a quite chilly common area. A courtesy ride was offered at 10:30 AM down the hill. One must beg a ride up the hill at night.

Date of stay: March 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank supihonbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real_Journeys, Public Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2015

Thank you for your review. The wi-fi is normally available in every room and should have reached yours, so we apologise if there was a problem during your visit. The lodge is on a hill which gives it those spectacular views and it is a steep - but short walk. Our guests are offered a courtesy ride when they arrive and when they leave. We appreciate your feedback as we continuously review our service to provide the best experience for our visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2015

From the pick up at the ferry to the breakfast and send off, the staff were very warm and helpful. They have laundry facilities, a drying room, and a nice, large tub after a day of walking. The birdsong and views of Oban town are spectacular.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whats4dessert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real_Journeys, Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2015

Whats4dessert, Thanks for posting a review and highlighting our helpful staff, the birdsong and great views. Kind regards Stewart Island Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2015

We had one night at the lodge after a night out tramping so were pleased to get to our room and relax, the bed was sooo comfortable and huge. Staff were very friendly and let us store gear there the night before arrival and left breakfast out later for us. Huge selection at breakfast. Close to town although reasonably steep hill to climb up. Would recommend and stay again.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real_Journeys, Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2015

Anna B, Thanks for posting a review and recommending us. Look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Kind regards Stewart Island Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2014

We stayed at the Lodge for two nights and loved it. We had a really busy schedule at Stewart Island and were happy that we could have a really good sleep at the spacious rooms in the lodge. The breakfast was also very good, lots of choice! Above all the harbor views were exceptional! The lodge is built on a hill and it takes only 10 minutes to walk to the restaurants and the wharf.

Date of stay: November 2014
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bert-and-Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real_Journeys, Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2015

Bert-and-Barbara, Thanks for taking the time to do a review and post a lovely shot of the kaka visiting the terrace. Glad you slept well and had good breakfasts – especially important as you had a busy schedule. Kind regards Stewart Island Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews