We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveler rating
126
26
5
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
26
5
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews real journeys steep hill other guests new zealand dressing room views are amazing comfortable rooms continental breakfast great knowledge isn't cheap wet room your luggage half moon bay yogurt the perfect place to stay kitchen facilities breakfast table
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 167 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2014

We stayed at the Lodge for two nights and loved it. We had a really busy schedule at Stewart Island and were happy that we could have a really good sleep at the spacious rooms in the lodge. The breakfast was also very good, lots of choice! Above all the harbor views were exceptional! The lodge is built on a hill and it takes only 10 minutes to walk to the restaurants and the wharf.

Date of stay: November 2014
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bert-and-Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real_Journeys, Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2015

Bert-and-Barbara, Thanks for taking the time to do a review and post a lovely shot of the kaka visiting the terrace. Glad you slept well and had good breakfasts – especially important as you had a busy schedule. Kind regards Stewart Island Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2014

The rooms are quite spacious as are the bathrooms. Expansive views of the harbor. The breakfast was more than adequate and guests are able to use the kitchen facilities. This is a plus as there are only a few restaurants and their hours are limited - at least when we were there. The staff was very helpful.

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jltho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real_Journeys, Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2015

Jitho, WOW, great to know you found us the “best place on Stewart Island”. Thanks again for posting a review. Kind regards Stewart Island Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2014

The Stewart Island lodge is 5 minutes walk from the ferry overlooking the bay. We received a warm welcome and advice on walks and places to eat. Like the rest of the lodge our room had great views over Oban. There is a communal kitchen available for use by guests as well as the staff. There is also a communal lounge. The room was comfortable and quiet.

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandjtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real_Journeys, Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2015

Sandjtravels, Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our lodge comfortable and quiet. Kind regards Stewart Island Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2014

We stayed for three nights. The room was cold (ok weather was wet and cold) and the antiquated heating system seemed to take forever to warm up.

When you have been out for a walk you need a shower, but the towels were still wet from our morning shower and this didn't help us get warm. A simple heated towel rail would do the trick. The toilet flush kept sticking and if you didn't sort it out, it wouldn't fill properly.

The bed wasn't that comfortable and I got backache. The bedspread was stained and had an un-identified foodstuff stuck on it - YUK.

The shampoo and soap looked cheap (sachets).

The cups were not properly washed up in the rooms and the second day we lifted a cup down to find coffee dregs still in it.

Room 1 seemed to be best as no-one walks past it, but the other rooms had people walking past to get to their rooms.

The breakfast was poor. They had gluten free bread and bagels but there was no cold meat and if you can't eat cereals, yoghurt or cheese (which I can't) then you are stuck. They made no offer to do anything for my dairy allergy apart from soy milk. We asked Chris, the hostess what we should do and she suggested we go and buy our own food from the Supermarket!!! We did.

We liked the washing machine and drier and the ability to use the phone but all in all we thought for the price it was bad value for money. It's a shame as the Island is wonderful. We will probably go back to Stewart Island but won't stay there again, it looks run down and ready for a refurb.

We paid hosted prices, but the lodge isn't hosted! Stay elsewhere - there are better reviews for other places on the Island.

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arandbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real_Journeys, Public Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2014

Hi there

Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and are certainly surprised by some of the issues of you have raised. We will be looking into all aspects of your feedback with the Stewart Island team.

Kind regards

Real Journeys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2014

The Stewart Island Lodge is extremely comfortable with stunning views over Oban. The rooms are very well equipped and have lovely beds. Breakfast is continental with fruis, cereal, yogurts and a variety of nice breads andBagels. Eating breakfast and taking in the views is close to perfect. The manager is really helpful and gas great local knowledge. Ask her advice and she will give you good info. The gardens are being restored to their former glory and with a little more help will be stunning. The gardens are a major drawer of birds especially parrots.

Room tip: All rooms have great views.
Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real_Journeys, Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2015

CaptTravel, Thanks for your 5 star review. Yes you are right the kaka and the kereru are frequent visitors to our gardens. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Stewart Island Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews