We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stewart Island Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Bay Motel(Stewart Island)(Great Value!)
$112
$108
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Sea Hotel(Stewart Island)(Great Value!)
$74
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kelvin Hotel(Invercargill)
$117
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$95
$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Birchwood Manor Motel(Invercargill)(Great Value!)
$92
$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Bella Vista Motel(Invercargill)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Balmoral Lodge Motel(Invercargill)(Great Value!)
$99
$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveler rating
122
26
5
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
26
5
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsreal journeyssteep hillother guestsnew zealanddressing roomviews are amazingcontinental breakfast is servedhalf moon baycomfortable roomsbagels breadlarge shared balconybeautiful situationlarge walk in closetgreat knowledgeisn't cheapwet roomkitchen facilities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 163 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2008

We stayed at the Stewart Island Lodge with 4 adults and 2 children. It was a beautiful spot and the hosts, Jo and Wayne went out of their way to make sure we had a good time. The visit more than exceeded our expectations. The rooms were clean and comfortable with a beautiful view from the deck off the rooms. Jo and Wayne were very friendly. The breakfast was delicious and the pre-dinner "nipples" were really good as well. I loved the smoke salmon pate.

There are some old reviews on trip advisor when they are under different management. Rest assured, this is a great spot. Don't listen to the old reviews.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nzlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2008

What a wonderful place Stewart Island is, made even more so by the superb accommodation at Stewart Island Lodge under its new owners....just magic! We were offered cooked or continental breakfast at a time to suit us, transport when and where needed, pre-dinner drinks and nibbles (see photo for a two-person serving), Internet access, and advice on restaurants. In our case, the hostess took us to one of the top restaurants to introduce us to the manager, who then reserved for us the table of our choice. All the above, and more, at no additional charge.

Each unit has a security safe, a separate dressing room, a well- stocked mini-bar, and is serviced daily, even to having chocolates (blue for men, pink for ladies) placed bedside in the evenings. The whole lodge interior has superb decor, while the exterior is planted in native and floral shrubs overlooking the best view of the township and harbour (see photo). The hosts were attentive without intruding on our privacy, and would arrange and advise on local attractions and tours. As our hostess said "Anything you want....just ask and its yours".

We certainly enjoyed being spoilt at Stewart Island Lodge....can't wait to go back.

Pat and Roly Duff
Frequent Travellers,
NewZealand.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tallduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2008

This place could be great if the owners weren't so awful.The setting is nice and convenient to see Stewart Island, although it is grossly overpriced. The owners & family are rude, condescending, and act as though the guests are imposing on them. They clearly do not have the personality types to run a luxury lodge and should think seriously about closing down or taking some classes in customer service. Also, it is totally unacceptable to have their ill-behaved toddler running wild in what is billed as a luxury lodge. We still joke about how horrible this kid is--throwing tantrums in the dining room ($100/pp dinners), running through private rooms, on & on. I have no idea why these owners wanted to run a bed & breakfast as they act as though they don't want anyone but their family onsite. Don't even think of staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank WilmaXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real_Journeys, Marketing Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2008

The Stewart Island Lodge is now under new management (commencing August 2008). Recently refurbished, this upmarket lodge has six bedrooms, all with ensuites, private balconies and stunning ocean views. Its large grounds are home to many native birds, including kaka (native parrots). The revised tariff now includes an evening aperitif and appetisers, plus a cooked breakfast.

Thank you for the feedback from previous guests and we hope to ensure all future guests do enjoy their stay with us at Stewart Island Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2008

We had a wonderful weekend on Stewart Island with 4 other couples. Our group of ten booked out the 5 rooms at the Stewart Island Lodge for 3 nights. It was all done over the internet, the pictures were wonderful. We looked forward to spending the weekend together in an environment that was quiet, scenic, and one where we could be together, have the cooking done for us and relax. We had not read other reviews of the lodge until we arrived home in disappointment from our negative experience with the hosts and the 2 1/2 year old living at the lodge with his grandparents and mother. The promises one expects with a high end lodge, catering to those willing to fork out the money for a "special place" were not met. The hosts were very grumpy. They said intitially it was due to a long summer season and they were tired. At check out time and receiving a shock with the bill (rates went up a lot on April 1st and we were not told this from the time we booked the stay or on arrival, only at the time we checked out) it was becasue they had not had a good season financially and needed to raise rates. The 2 year old had the run of the place and that meant the TV in the lounge, freely walking into guest rooms while we were in them, crying during breakfasts and dinners and in the other common areas of the lodge. Not my idea of a relaxing weekend away with friends. We ended up spending one evening out on the deck in coats and blankets to be together, not being able to use the lounge.
The positives, the rooms were nice, the food while good was not a value at $90 per person/ $180 per couple for a simple dinner. Having been there, we have learned there are other places that are a better value and don't have a 2 year old on site.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nogray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2007

Stewart Island Lodge has the potential to be a great place--beautiful views, great food, wonderful birds, etc. But the owners/hosts somehow think it's ok to have their 2 year-old grandson run wild ruining any peace and quiet one might expect at a luxury lodge. The lodge claims that guests should feel welcome to relax in the guest lounge, but unless you enjoy a glass of wine in the company of a terrible two, you will avoid the lounge. One time we were actually chased from the lounge so the grandson could watch his "Shark Tales" video to avoid another tantrum.
We got a good deal to stay here but this place is billed as a luxury resort and many people are paying $400/night & $90 for dinner. It was simply inconsiderate to have a out of control kid running loose at this beautiful place. We have kids and love children, but this is the last thing we want on vacation. We loved Stewart Island and enjoyed the walks and the constant background of bird sounds. We would likely never return to this lodge knowing that the hosts treat their guests so poorly.

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Nancy8766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews