We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveler rating
126
26
5
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
26
5
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews real journeys steep hill other guests new zealand dressing room views are amazing comfortable rooms continental breakfast great knowledge isn't cheap wet room your luggage half moon bay yogurt the perfect place to stay kitchen facilities breakfast table
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 167 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed 5 nights in April and the walk up the hill is worth if for the view over the Oban township and harbour and the spectacular sunrises..Kaka visted for a feed of apple and nuts and the breakfast each day was great.The couple of chocolates in our room each night was a treat.But the main difference was Lisa..she is a perfect hostess and really looked after us and was very helpful with ideas of what trips to do and walks to go on.Garden could be improved but certainly didnt stop the wonderful bird life from singing around us.

Room tip: All rooms had a good view but we had room 1 so didnt have people walking past us to get to any rooms.
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwi30b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

In a country full of wonderful sights and experiences, a visit to Stewart Island is a real treat and the Stewart Island Lodge is one of the reasons. My husband and I stayed for 3 nights - we were thrilled with the facilities - a comfortable room with an awesome bed, great view with shared deck space, and a modern bathroom were all we needed, but we also had access to a kitchen area, living space, internet, and laundry. We were not bothered by the uphill trek to the lodge, but I guess some people might find it a struggle. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Lisa who showed us around, explained our excursion options, and helped us make reservations. She was great - always with a smile, very friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. We ended up doing three wonderful excursions - a sunset kayak tour, kiwi-spotting, and a bird-watching tour to Ulva Island. We also took a water taxi to the national park for a hike. We had some bad luck on our first day - there was a problem with the water supply - but Lisa was really great in helping us manage through it and the problem was solved within the day. I can't say enough about her - she really made our experience on Stewart Island that much more special and we are so happy we made the effort to visit. If I lived in New Zealand, I would visit Stewart Island every year - what a special place!

Room tip: Since the deck area is shared with all rooms, the room at the far end (I think it's room #1) is the most private with this respect.
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kle6072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real_Journeys, Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Kle6072,
Hi there, glad to hear that both of you were thrilled with our offerings at Stewart Island Lodge. Sounds like you filled your three day trip to Stewart Island with lots of trips.
Thanks again for posting a 5 star review and for spreading the word about our “New Zealand Treasure”!
Kind regards Stewart Island Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

5 minute walk from centre of Oban down/up one hundred yard steep hill. Well worth it as quality accommodation with fantastic balcony views. Lisa the manager a really friendly and helpful lady and the whole place immaculate. Reasonable continental breakfast. Would
Stay again if back on island

Date of stay: February 2014
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank StaresDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Well appointed room made for a comfortable stay, continental breakfast was very good and Lisa looked after us very well. Agree with Kay T about the hill I struggled up (no trouble going down!) and Bill T is right about the garden.

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I see Bill T chose to review the things which they don't have at the Stewart Island Lodge, but whatever it used to be like, this really is a wonderful place to get away from it all. The lodge is clean, comfortable and welcoming. The views and the surroundings are unbeatable. The manager (Lisa) arranged everything including free transfers to and from the ferry and booking a guided wildlife tour for us. OK, they no longer have gourmet catering (I guess not enough people were willing to pay for it) but there's a great pub and restaurant not ten minutes' walk down the road. There's facilities to make tea and coffee day and night, a comfortable lounge with a view over the bay and a chance to meet other guests and there was a perfect continental breakfast. We'll be back!!!

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real_Journeys, Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Dave R, Thanks for taking time to post a review for other travellers to see. Great to hear that we will see you back again soon and that you found Stewart Island Lodge a great place to get away from it all!
We look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards Stewart Island Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews