We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveler rating
126
26
5
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
26
5
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews real journeys steep hill other guests new zealand dressing room views are amazing comfortable rooms continental breakfast great knowledge isn't cheap wet room your luggage half moon bay yogurt the perfect place to stay kitchen facilities breakfast table
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 167 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We were here over two years ago and there was this exceptional couple that ran the facility. At night there was "nibblies" wine and great conversation with fellow travellers. They even had a fantastic hot cooked breakfast as well!
Today no nibblies,wine,conversation or hot breakfast! In its defence it is kept clean and yes it has the best view of the bay with abundant wildlife near by.
For management there is a segment that does not mind paying a little more for enhanced features
Also hire a gardener the grounds need heavy maintenance as pathways are overgrown with weeds and are a hazard to walk through when wet

Date of stay: February 2014
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank BillT910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real_Journeys, Public Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Hi there

Thanks for your feedback.

Yes the format of the Lodge has changed a little with it no longer being fully hosted. That said we have also adjusted the price point accordingly to cater for a broader range of guests. We appreciate your comments however and will ensure they are included in our next review of the facility. Regarding the gardens your feedback has been directly passed to our Stewart Island team.

Kind regards
Real Journeys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Number one was the staff, Sue and Lisa at the Lodge were great as were Chris and Kylie at the Red Shed. They couldn't do enough to help. The hill to the lodge is quite steep but transport to get up and down was organised for us with no trouble. The rooms were lovely and clean, with comfortable beds and tea making facilities in our room. There were full kitchen facilities available if needed. The continental breakfast was great, just what was needed to start the day. In spite of the on again, off again weather, we thoroughly enjoyed our few days on Stewart Island and were glad we made the decision to stay at Stewart Island Lodge. We were very impressed with Real Journeys, their staff and the various activities we had organised through them including our Doubtful Sound cruise.

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The lodge is brilliant with views that give you the wow feeling, you stand on the balcony / decking and look out over the harbour and it gives you the feeling of bliss, it's just great. Rooms are newly updated and are perfect with their new smart decor, and with the added bonus of having its own dressing room with fridge and dressing stand, bathrooms are also newly updated and the deep bath a real treat after long days of walking up and down some steep hills, cannot praise it enough. Breakfast is provided in a communal dining room where in the evening if you wish you can go and sit / read or simply watch TV. You can if you wish cook your own evening meal as everything is there for your use, also provided is a complete laundry service of washing machine/dryer. Brilliant place to enjoy your stay on Stewart Island

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathryn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We decided that we would go to to Stewart Island for one night. We wish that we had gone for longer. The lodge is really a home from home - nothing was too much trouble for the staff. From getting off the ferry to getting back on all our luggage was looked after.The room was perfect, breakfast was just right and we were welcome to use the lodge facilities even after we had checked out. for us northerners two things to beware of: UV - the sun is very strong do not skimp on factor 30+ and watch out for sand-flies; I unwittingly fed them well before applying the mozzie cream.
The views from the Lodge were spectacular and being able to feed wild Kaka was wonderful. The lodge even provided a supply of nuts to hand feed the birds

Room tip: They are all good
Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed 1 night at the Stewart Island Lodge when we were shark diving recently. Great place with excellent views and very comfortable and modern facilities and layout. Lisa, who hosted us, was awesome and really took the time to explain what we could do on the Island and made sure everything was what we wanted. Breakfast the next morning was really good too. Highly recommend it to anyone who visits Stewart Island and is looking for an upper end place to stay.

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tenp255115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews