We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stewart Island Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Bad value”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We booked this and were prepared to pay the high price because we thought it was something special - it was okay but that was all! Yes it is up a steep hill but not a problem and you do have beautiful views from the shared areas - not from room 6!

We hardly saw the person in charge, the host, and even when she was at her desk in the kitchen area she never spoke! Our room was never attended to - bed never made, no clean linen and nothing cleaned or replenished. The blind at our window was broken and the connecting door into the lodge from our room could not be locked so was not secure. We did see the host on the last morning and she promised our luggage would be put on the correct ferry that day for us - we even put our luggage into the vehicle for her - but we were not convinced she had listened or taken in what we said and we were right to think this as our luggage was put on the later ferry which meant we had to wait 2.5hrs for the last ferry of the day to be reunited with our luggage and had to stay in Invercargill instead of heading up to the Catlins due to this delay. We were not happy!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank timslouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    21
    5
    7
    3
See reviews for
8
102
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Having read the mixed review on tripadvisor we should have know better than to stay at Stewart Island Lodge. However, as we understood that the property is owned by REALJOURNEY we though to give them a chance. Not a good idea. To start with the good news:

Nice view and common sitting area. The steep hill up to the property is no big deal if you are reasonable fit.
The Wifi worked well.

Now for the bad news

On arrival we got a 1 min introduction by an attendant.
The kitchen was a mess, and the dishwasher was not emptied for a couple of days.
Our room was not cleaned one day, at we had to find the linen cupboard to replace soiled linnen.
Although we stayed several days, we still do not know when the attendant(s) was there apart from breakfast.
When we ran out of coffee we put the empty jar on the attendant's table for a refill, two days later again no coffee.
One afternoon a guy dropped buy and asked us if there was any empty rooms. Which we confirmed (I think we were the only guests) and we suggested that he called to the office no. Later that afternoon he moved in and told us that the office had say that he could just move into room No. 3 which was not locked and sort out the paperwork later.
Our room was small and badly designed (but with a good view), one of those places where you need to lie flat on the floor to find a plug to recharge. In the bathroom all below average materials has been used, the cheapest soap and shampoo that we have seen for a long time.

Having paid $ 240 for this type of accommodation is a total disgrace. We have traveled in NZ for 3 weeks and luckily this is our only back experience. REALJOURNEY should get their act together.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PolarbearSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real_Journeys, Public Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback. Customer service and product excellence are very important to Real Journeys. The concerns you raise and some comments by other parties have prompted us to look at Stewart Island Lodge, how we are operating it and our customers expectations. We will be in touch when we have completed this process. Again thank you for your feedback and apologies that your stay with us was not to your liking, please be assured we are looking to take action as a result of your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We have been travelling in New Zealand for 30 days and stayed in a dozen of different accomodations, by far Stewart Island Lodge is the worst in terms of standard, experience and value. We stayed here for 4 nights at NZ$240 per night with zero service . There was only one lady in-charge of this place and she was illusive. She did not explant about the features in the room. Two days later we discovered a fridge and water boiler hiding in a dark cardboard without lightings. The room was poorly designed, going to the bath room was a challenge when you have opened luggages. Room was not made and towels unchanged on the third day. The toiletries was the lowest standard even compared to the remote places in Indonesia. The garden was sad looking, it must have been beautiful once upon a time. The most amazing experience was the lady in-change avoid having contact with the guests. We received no greetings whatsoever in four days and nights, despite the fact that she encountered us a few times each day.The unexciting continental breakfast just mechanically layout on the table without any person's present during breakfast time. We also noticed the opened canned fruits that were served in common bowl were recycled day after day, and the same plastic bag of bread was stored in the fridge and served till the last piece. It is fine to recycle, but could someone please tell use what is going on? Of course the shared kitchen was messy with dirty drawers where the cutleries you used are stored. Oh yes, you have to clean up after having breakfast (when you are on holidays!) As i write, the big coffee power tin in the kitchen is completely emptied, and there is no one to attend to our need. Can some one please explain to the owner the meaning of 'Hospitality' ?

Room Tip: Give this one a miss!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Fanny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

The lodge is located high on a hill affording excellent and beautiful views of the Harbour. We had booked a package tour online consisting of ferry crossing from Bluff, lodging, the Patterson inlet cruise and a marine nature walk. The lodge facilities were excellent. Large rooms with fold away doors, a beautiful common room with a fabulous view and a kitchen to use if wanted. We were greeted at the ferry for transfer to the lodge and were immediately able to settle into a peaceful, relaxing visit. The amazing forest parrot, the Kaka and the singing Tui were right on the porch to welcome us as well. The Patterson inlet cruise was very informative and we saw blue penguins and 2 types of albatross on our way to Ulva Island which is itself a magical place. We decided to cancel the second tour to go kiwi spotting instead. There was absolutely no problem In getting a refund, even though the kiwi tour was with a different company. I could not believe that !! The Real Journeys people really know how to take of their guests. All of their staff were helpful and proud of their island paradise.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We arrived about 1pm at the lodge. We were greeted by an unenthusiastic attendant. Showed us to our room without explanation of anything. After a while we went to find her to book a trip. She wasn't very helpful, was nervous when asked questions. It felt like we were a bother. The room itself was very comfortable, beautiful of the town. Next morning around 7.30 we emerged for breakfast. There was a lady in there drying some dishes and putting them on the table. We thought that must be another attendant. We realised it was another guest. Perhaps she was taking notice of the sign in the kitchen stating that you should clean up after yourself. We do understand that guests are welcome to use the kitchen but we were left uncomfortably wondering if we had to do our own dishes after breakfast. The breakfast itself was very poor. Very basic continental. It was badly laid out. It would be so easy to put out a bit of cheese or ham or just to enquire when checking in if guests have any special requirements. Nothing was labelled. I did see labels but they were still in a heap in the kitchen cupboard. One of the guests did ask me which was the trim milk. When we sat down to have breakfast there were 4 other guests there. They were complaining about the lack of attendance. Half an hour later we heard the attendant coming in, she totally ignored all the guests and did some work in the kitchen. How easy it would have been to say good morning and ask if there was anything she could do. The grounds were poorly kept. Generally we were very disappointed with the service. It felt like the place was just a cash cow and the owner didn't care about the guests. If the attendant was better trained in hospitality it would have been a better experience for the guests. What we found strange was that the attendant was there from 6.30 to 2.30 then someone at the information centre (red shed) would answer the redirected phone. I would recommend anyone stay here until they sort out the hosting. For $230 per night you expect a lot more service. We stayed at 5 different places on our holiday and they were generally half the price with excellent service. And always ready to help and available in person. It certainly feels more awkward having to phone for a question so you tend not to bother. My wife was getting cold later in the evening but did not want to ring anybody about getting a heater. This our first review. We only signed up because we felt we had to share our experience.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Pieter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

He arrived to the Lodge and were very happy with the accommodations. It was the only place we staying in New Zealand where we treated to a surprise bottle of wine and candies when the hostess overheard us mention that we were on our honeymoon. Breakfast is continental, so expect fruit, cereal, and toast. The walk up the hill to the lodge is a calf muscle builder :).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musicloveboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mapua, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
207 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The lodge only has 6 rooms so it makes for a peaceful and relaxing place to stay. We had 2 nights here and wish we could have stayed longer. It was a short walk down to the main town for a meal. We plane to return soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stewart Island hotels
0.2 mi away
South Sea Hotel
South Sea Hotel
#3 of 3 in Stewart Island
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Motel
Bay Motel
#1 of 3 in Stewart Island
174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaka Retreat Motel - Stewart Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Anchorstone
Anchorstone
#5 of 10 in Stewart Island
22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sails Ashore Lodge
Sails Ashore Lodge
#6 of 8 in Stewart Island
24 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kowhai Lane Holiday Home
Kowhai Lane Holiday Home
#6 of 10 in Stewart Island
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stewart Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stewart Island Lodge

Property: Stewart Island Lodge
Address: 14 Nichol Road, Stewart Island 9846, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Stewart Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Stewart Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stewart Island Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stewart Island Lodge is one of New Zealand's southernmost lodges. With expansive views out to sea and over Halfmoon Bay the lodge is ideally situated on a hill just a five minute walk from the village. Its gardens are home to many native birds, including kaka (native parrots), which may be viewed from the terrace. Stewart Island Lodge is an up-market and peaceful B&B, nestled in native bush and provides a stunning setting and a well-appointed place to relax. We are open 1 Aug - 31 May. At other times of the year (June & July), Stewart Island Lodge is available for group bookings for up to 12 people (6 bedrooms, lounge, kitchen and BBQ). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Stewart Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stewart Island Hotel Stewart Island
Stewart Island Lodge South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing