We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big improvement needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stewart Island Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Shepparton, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Big improvement needed”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at the lodge on 26th and 27th November 2012 and were very disappointed as we were lead to believe that it was fully hosted and full breakfast. This was not the case and the rooms were not cleaned each day and the breakfast was very poor with little choice and not enough for the guests that were there. The garden was terribly overgrown and not accessible.
After 2pm each day there was no one around to contact if needed.
Overall very disappointing.
Fortunately the rest of the time on the Island was great the four of us had a great time.
Mary Shepparton

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real_Journeys, Public Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry that your experience was not what you expected. We have changed the format and reduced the price point at Stewart Island Lodge - this appears to have resulted in some confusion and or teething issues. We are really working hard to get the balance right and ensure we have a quality product at an affordable price, your feedback is therefore appreciated and taken on board. To clarify Stewart Island Lodge offers a continental breakfast and has support staff - but the property is not fully hosted. We'd be very interested to understand how you were led to believe otherwise and will contact you directly so we can follow this back through. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    21
    5
    7
    3
See reviews for
8
102
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The views from here are beautiful, it was easy getting from the ferry to the Lodge and the woman who picked us up was very friendly and knowledgable. However, breakfast was extremely disappointing - only cold cereal and white bread - and we were asked to clean up after ourselves (i.e. rinse plates and load the dishwasher). This was the most basic and impersonal expereince we had out of the 10 different B&Bs we stayed at during our trip, while this was also the most expensive.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
219 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

This is a super place to stay on Stewart Island. Great view of the bay and Oban. Nice rooms well appointed. Only drawback is that the service (seems as if there's just one person here as staff) is spotty. Things run out at breakfast and we have to replenish the from the fridge. Our rooms do not seem to be made up in any consistent way. It's 4:30 Sunday now and the bed is not made, there are wet towels in my bathroom, some towels from yesterday were just taken away and not replaced. Etc. If that could be cured, I'd really rate this place excellent

Room Tip: Rooms 2, 3, and 4 are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hirschwrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

With out doubt it has the best views. However, this place has changed hands recently and standards are dropping, while our room was lovely and well appointed there was no soap and the shampoo bottle empty. The place was advertised as hosted, with drinks and nibbles served at 5pm and also a cooked breakfast. Well it does not. In fact the help your self breakast choice was very poor. If you supply your own, you can cook in the kitchen. but we were not told this. At 5.30pm on our first night I could find no one to help me with an enquiry. The office was not locked, room keys were lying around, computer was switched on, anyone could have walked in and down loaded guest data. Breaching the confidentially act. The place is in need of serious attention.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real_Journeys, Public Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for yor feedback. To clarify Stewart Island Lodge has is not under new ownership however the style of the accommodation has changed a little which has been reflected with a reduction in the rate. It appears you were in possesion of an old brochure and as discussed directly with you - we are following this back through to try and ensure our customers are not given the wrong information in this way. We've also looked at processes at the lodge in response to your feedback and are happy to report that we are getting some really positive comments from visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The whole Real Journeys experience from the Milford to the Stewart Island ferry and delivery to the SI Lodge was great. We were well looked after and our host Hollie at the lodge was great. Its the best and most comfortable accommodation on the Island. Anything more back-packerish would be a risk of damp and mould in such a wet southern place. Getting to other islands and boating tours is a must as is the local hotel for perfect dinning experineces. But you can cook up yourself at the lodge.

Room Tip: Only five rooms in the lodeg so talk to Hollie at the actual lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

A warm, welcoming, comfortable lodge with a wonderful view whether in sun or drizzle (though sun is better!). Our room was spacious and had all we needed, and the bathroom had a bath and separate shower. Free wifi available in the room. Marvellous managers, friendly, helpful and nothing too much trouble. Delicious breakfast eaten round a large table with the other guests. We ate dinner each night in the South Seas Hotel and that was very good considering they have no competition. The walk back up the steep hill to the lodge seemed steeper with a full tummy! Both the island and the lodge are wonderful - one-offs!

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MyrtleWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We loved our 3 nights in Stewart Island and could have spent several more nights. It's paradise and the lodge is lovely! The rooms are comfy, the deck area is perfect for viewing the harbor and surroundings, and the frequent kaka visits (the friendly forest parrot). They set out great appetizers at 5pm nightly. The hosts were very helpful and nice.
We loved taking the harbor cruise with Real Journeys to Ulva Island - a birder's paradise. We've never seen more mid-size albatross! I wish we had also taken the Ulva Island Tour (3 hours guided - book through the lovely gift shop in Oban) to take our time and see more birds. The Stewart Island Robin is so friendly they come right up to you! We took a night-time kiwi tour which was fun and saw 2 kiwis; most nights there are sightings...
A great place to visit!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank estarkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stewart Island hotels
0.2 mi away
South Sea Hotel
South Sea Hotel
#3 of 3 in Stewart Island
201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Motel
Bay Motel
#1 of 3 in Stewart Island
173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaka Retreat Motel - Stewart Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stewart Island Backpackers
Stewart Island Backpackers
#4 of 9 in Stewart Island
96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sails Ashore Lodge
Sails Ashore Lodge
#6 of 8 in Stewart Island
24 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kowhai Lane Holiday Home
Kowhai Lane Holiday Home
#6 of 9 in Stewart Island
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stewart Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stewart Island Lodge

Property: Stewart Island Lodge
Address: 14 Nichol Road, Stewart Island 9846, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Stewart Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Stewart Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stewart Island Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stewart Island Lodge is one of New Zealand's southernmost lodges. With expansive views out to sea and over Halfmoon Bay the lodge is ideally situated on a hill just a five minute walk from the village. Its gardens are home to many native birds, including kaka (native parrots), which may be viewed from the terrace. Stewart Island Lodge is an up-market and peaceful B&B, nestled in native bush and provides a stunning setting and a well-appointed place to relax. We are open 1 Aug - 31 May. At other times of the year (June & July), Stewart Island Lodge is available for group bookings for up to 12 people (6 bedrooms, lounge, kitchen and BBQ). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Stewart Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stewart Island Hotel Stewart Island
Stewart Island Lodge South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing