We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Original Early NZ style Hotel with good basic qualities”
Review of South Sea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
South Sea Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Stewart Island
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Original Early NZ style Hotel with good basic qualities”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Ok it is a traditional NZ Hotel however the accommodation in rooms upstairs and beds are comfortable. The meals exceeded expectations plus the staff went out of their way to make stay enjoyable - including a lift to the early ferry.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view over the bay - northern side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herneauck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    91
    42
    14
    5
See reviews for
33
100
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We got married on Stewart Island & had the reception at the Hotel - I stayed here as did our guests. From the onset the staff were very helpful & friendly. The catering for the wedding was more then expected for what we were charged. The dinning room meals were ample in size. The accommodation was clean and roomy with plenty of coffee, sugar etc. All at very reasonable prices. Highly recommended - what a spot. Thanks

Room Tip: We stayed in the studio units
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankguth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Accommodation a bit grim nothing matched and dated. No view from motel rooms. Big patio door to go out by and no blind or net curtains so no privacy. Bit soulless. But was clean and bed was comfy with electric blanket. It was functional but I think there is probably more cosy accommodation available if you are going to be there for more than a night or 2.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KittyKat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We lodged, ate and drank at the South Sea Hotel. We stayed in one of the large motel-style rooms in the back of the hotel. The room was large, clean and quiet. The food at the restaurant is very good and the pub hops. Dinnertime can get busy so a reservation may be in order during the weekend. I never had any interaction with the hotel manager but the restaurant staff are friendly.

Room Tip: Stay in the rooms located in the back (with kitchenettes). These units are detached from the main h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GFP32999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We booked a room at the hotel but were a little nervous about reviews indicating noise - so when the option came up to book rooms in the little unit behind the hotel, we went for it. The little cottage behind the hotel had 4 double rooms. 2 toilets and 2 showers were off the center hall. Perfect! While we were there we were in one room and our cousins were in another room. The other 2 rooms weren't taken so we had the place to ourselves. It was very quiet and quite pleasant.

The dining room at the hotel was another story. The food was much better than we had expected but the service ranged from mediocre to terrible. It must be very hard finding good staff. We loved our visit to Stewart Island and learned to (mostly) exercise patience as good food would eventually arrive.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the cottage behind the hotel we found to be quite good for lack of noise and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth_Joe_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

I was not impressed with the owner, she was indifferent as to whether you were satisfied or not; other people said the same thing.
The rooms are very basic. You walk along the corridor to reach shared showers with no stool for your clothes.
The restaurant food was very good, if they could get your order correct or even remember that you had ordered anything.
Do come to the island but spend more and stay in a B&B !

Room Tip: Apparently they do have a few en suite but other users said they were still poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This is not a luxury hotel, its a traditional old pub, but it has loads of character, is clean and warm and we really enjoyed our stay. Its in the best location in town with amazing views. The ocean facing rooms are well worth it. But even if you don't get one, the lovely old guest lounge has the same views. bar downstairs is great for beer or some pub food and people are very friendly. The ear plugs in the room were a bit of a worry but personally we didnt need them.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaunanthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stewart Island
0.1 mi away
Bay Motel
Bay Motel
#1 of 3 in Stewart Island
174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kaka Retreat Motel - Stewart Island
0.4 mi away
Hilltop Backpackers Stewart Island
Hilltop Backpackers Stewart Isla...
#7 of 10 in Stewart Island
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Anchorstone
Anchorstone
#5 of 10 in Stewart Island
22 reviews
22.9 mi away
Bluff Ocean Vista Accommodation
0.3 mi away
Sails Ashore Lodge
Sails Ashore Lodge
#6 of 8 in Stewart Island
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Sea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Sea Hotel

Property: South Sea Hotel
Address: Elgin Terrace, Stewart Island 9846, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Stewart Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Stewart Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Sea Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your South Sea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Sea Hotel Stewart Island, South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing