We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a nice hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stewart Island Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“not a nice hostel”
Reviewed March 5, 2010

Ghastly chairs in room and kitchen and revolting paint job on my room's walls. No-frills, aging hostel. Only one coat hook in the twin room I was in, nowhere to hang clothes and towels. The room's mirror was hung inconveniently above one ot the beds.Reception person unfriendly and unhelpful but was okay next day when I stored a bag behind the counter. This place needs improvement.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCNtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    23
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
11
25
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2009

Stewart Island is a beautiful place, great for walking and seeing the wildlife.
This hostel was certainly the only low point of the visit for us.
The receptionist is unhelpful and unfriendly. When we arrived she told my boyfriend and I that she would put us in our own 3 bed dorm "because they dont do mixed dorms", then on our second night she put another girl in our room! That really isnt a problem for us because we usually stay in dorm rooms but as we stayed there for 2 nights during the low season while it was very quiet, there were plenty of other rooms available. She could have easily avoided contradicting herself for no reason.
The kitchen was not particularly nice, or particularly clean. The common area resembles a doctors waiting room, it has at least got a TV, but only 2 channels work which is frustrating when it is so quiet! The doors to the shower rooms are left open at all times (I kept closing the door to the ladies showers but it was always open soon after) which means you will absolutely freeze when getting into and out of the shower!
I wouldnt stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyFlemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2008

This is an appalling place - avoid it like the plague. Firstly, the receptionist was abrupt and unfriendly. Next, my room was poorly decorated, had an uncomfy bed, and a funny smell. Thirdly, the kitchen is filthy (I decided against cooking) and the communal area untidy, unclean with ancient furniture. Overall the layout of the place was strangely reminiscent of a POW camp - if I'd stayed any longer I would have been tempted to dig a tunnel!

It's a real shame because Stewart Island itself is wonderful and definitely worth a visit - just stay somewhere else!!

  • Liked — Nothing!
  • Disliked — Everything!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Mirumir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2008

Has good communal areas, cant say too much about the state of the room tho - basic twin room

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank BelindaJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stewart Island
0.1 mi away
South Sea Hotel
South Sea Hotel
#3 of 3 in Stewart Island
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Motel
Bay Motel
#1 of 3 in Stewart Island
173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilltop Backpackers Stewart Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kaka Retreat Motel - Stewart Island
1.1 mi away
Anchorstone
Anchorstone
#5 of 9 in Stewart Island
22 reviews
23.1 mi away
Bluff Ocean Vista Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stewart Island Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stewart Island Backpackers

Property: Stewart Island Backpackers
Address: 18 Ayr Street, Stewart Island 9818, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Stewart Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Stewart Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated in the heart of Halfmoon Bay, we offer friendly, comfortable and clean accommodation at competitive prices 365 days a year. We also have a huge camping area! Picture Vicki has lived on Stewart island for nearly 10 years and is passionate this unique and beautiful part of the world. When the opportunity came to run the backpackers, it was a no brainer! She is also the scary Quiz lady at the renowned Sunday Night Quiz at the South Sea Hotel! Whether you are here to walk, fish, hunt, see the wildlife or just relax, we're open 365 days a year, any help you need; just ask! We offer: Crisp, fresh sheets on every bed along with a pillow, duvet and blanket No bunk beds and a maximum of 4 people per dorm room Well-stocked kitchen Laundry Great sunny, flat tent sites (although we can't always guarantee the sun!) Recycling Booking service for Stewart Island activities including Ulva Island FREE WIFI voucher on check-in FREE DVDs to watch FREE awesome Bookcrossing Shelf FREE jigsaws to do FREE Guitar to use FREE Local Phone calls (Inc Invercargill) FREE BBQ use FREE luggage storage FREE Hairdryer/Iron/Alarm Clock/Hair Clippers to borrow FREE Bedrolls to borrow when camping ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Stewart Island Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stewart Island Backpackers Hotel Stewart Island
Stewart Island Backpackers South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing