We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fish supper” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of KaiKart Takeaways

KaiKart Takeaways
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, British, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great fish supper”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

Ordered blue and chips - delicious!!

Definitely worth the trip here - was on Stewart Island on a dreicht day and stopped here for lunch.
Service was good - very welcoming and got my fish & chips very quickly.

Check opening time of Kalikart as it's not open all the time.

Best fish and chips I've had for ages!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    69
    16
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Steyr, Oberosterreich, Austria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fab fish and chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Loved sitting out in sun to eat out of paper and drinking L andP
The fish was as fresh as can be,we were right by the harbour and had lots of hungry seagulls about. Didnt have to wait long for the meal...kart isnt open all day so make sure you check the opening times

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ju S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Recommended by our New Zealand guide book”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

As recommended by our guide book we tried the fish & chips at KaiKart Takeaways. I think we had the beer battered blue cod. Because it's a takeaway only with a few benches outside and the weather was rainy we took the meal to our backpacker lodge. The fish was good but the chips were a bit soft but I like them more crisp.

Helpful?
Thank Sven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F'burg
Level Contributor
205 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

The food came highly recommended, but it's only takeaway. On our second visit we were disappointed that we were not permitted to sit inside, even though it was raining and there was an empty table. So that time we went to the South Sea instead.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank nanacake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best fish and chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

We had great blue cod and chips from the KaiKart, recommended by fellow travellers.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alison_m_valentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KaiKart Takeaways also viewed

 
Stewart Island, Southland Region
Stewart Island, Southland Region
 

Been to KaiKart Takeaways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing