We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stewart Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glendaruel Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We recently had the opportunity to stay at the Glendaruel B&B and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The owner, Raylene, was a wonderful host and made us feel quite at home. The breakfast she prepared each morning was fantastic.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richStewartIsland, Owner at Glendaruel Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments!
Best wishes,
Raylene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 51 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

This island is just magic and worth the trip to get there as the crossing from Bluff can be a little rough, but make the effort and you will be rewarded with a wonderful experience. This B&B is in a great location and and easy walk to everywhere, well it only has 400 odd inhabitants so no where is far from anywhere.
Raylene is a wonderful host and provides an outstanding breakfast and can advice on everything to do in that area. We saw Albatross, Kaka, Kiwi and lots of Mollymots and wonderful magical place

Room Tip: Make sure you stay for a few days 3 or 4 and be prepared for the crossing they can be rough
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richStewartIsland, Owner at Glendaruel Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Thank you for such lovely comments.
Travel well and have fun!
Raylene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

I just stayed for two nights but its was the best place to be. When I arrived Realeen had a cup of coffee with mee and told mee what I could do in those days.... If you are going to Steward Island then is this a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atze1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richStewartIsland, Owner at Glendaruel Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for the lovely comments!
Raylene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were so pleased that we decided to visit Stewart Island on our recent travels of New Zealand. Our visit was made so special because of our stay at this magical B&B run by the delightful Raylene. Nothing was too much trouble - we were met at the ferry terminal and driven to Glendaruel with all of our luggage and then on another day when we were absolutely exhausted from a busy day, Raylene happily drove down and picked us up outside the Four Square store to save us from a walk up the hill. Our first floor room was very comfortable and also included a great big living room where we could enjoy a drink, cup of coffee, read or relax. The views from the balcony are just gorgeous and Raylene's garden is a paradise. And the birds - so many, including kakas who came down to the balcony railing for a treat of peanuts. Not to forget MacPherson, the cute little Cairn terrier, who also made us welcome. Do yourself a favour - visit Stewart Island, and don't consider staying anywhere else but Glendaruel B&B.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sueaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richStewartIsland, Owner at Glendaruel Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

You were an awesome foursome and such fun to host!
Travel well and have fun!
Raylene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

When travelling to Stewart Island (and it´s a shame so few people are doing this) this B&B is a must. Situated on top of a small hill it allows great views over Golden Bay and over an outstandingly beautiful garden. If you are lucky enough to get the first floor room you´ll have an additional big living room and two balconies. Raylene´s breakfasts are as gorgeous as it´s her way to run her B&B- thank´s a lot, Raylene! By the way- she recommended to us the "Birding Bonanza"- an experience nobody should miss on Stewart Island.

Room Tip: upstair room has 2 balconies and private living room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Josef R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic N, Owner at Glendaruel Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comment! R. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Raylene looked after us very well in her beautiful home. The bedroom was comfortable and having our own lounge was a bonus especially with the 2 balconies and views over Golden Bay. The house is surrounded by a lovely garden with rain forest plants and kakas (type of parrot) who come hoping for nuts!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carolinehil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We were looked after very well by Raylene and Mac (the dog). The place is very comfortable and the lounge room a great place to just hang out and look at the view. Raylene cooked a great breakfast and booked tours for us. She also drove us up and down the hill a lot (which was lovely as it was a bit wet). The garden is wonderful and we had up and close experiences with the ka ka (bird).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Belinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stewart Island hotels
0.4 mi away
South Sea Hotel
South Sea Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stewart Island
216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Motel
Bay Motel
#1 of 3 in Stewart Island
177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kaka Retreat Motel - Stewart Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sails Ashore Lodge
Sails Ashore Lodge
#6 of 8 in Stewart Island
24 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stewart Island Backpackers
Stewart Island Backpackers
#2 of 10 in Stewart Island
106 reviews
1.3 mi away
Anchorstone
Anchorstone
#5 of 10 in Stewart Island
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendaruel Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendaruel Bed & Breakfast

Address: 38 Golden Bay Road, Stewart Island, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Stewart Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Stewart Island
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glendaruel, nestled between Halfmoon Bay and Golden Bay, is ideally situated to help you maximise your time here. Overlooking Paterson Inlet and Ulva Island, it is bordered on two sides by uninterrupted vistas of native forest, alive with birdsong. The village of Oban on one side and the water taxis to Ulva Island Bird Sanctuary on the other are but a few minutes walk away.Glendaruel garden, a fusion of native and exotic plantings, extends over several levels and melds into the forest, which New Zealanders call ‘the bush’. The garden has featured in magazines (New Zealand Gardener, Weekend Gardener and My Home and Garden) and in the book, Great Gardens of New Zealand, by Derek Fell.Birds love it! Tui and kaka dispute the treetops, weka and, increasingly, kiwi patrol the paths. What a thrill it was when a Department of Conservation worker pointed out to me that a kiwi had left his/her calling card in the middle of one of my garden paths!As for me, I love gardening, kayaking, cooking, travelling and languages. Stewart Island has been a preferred holiday destination for almost all my life and my permanent home since 2000. Helping you to make the most of your time on this beautiful island is my focus. I meet you at the ferry or air terminal and take you back at the end of your stay.My Cairn terrier, MacPherson, enthusiastically joins me in extending A Hundred, Thousand Welcomes! and maintaining the special blend of Scottish and Kiwi hospitality that so many of Glendaruel’s guests have commented on. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glendaruel Bed & Breakfast Stewart Island, South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing