We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views over Golden Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glendaruel Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed February 21, 2013

When travelling to Stewart Island (and it´s a shame so few people are doing this) this B&B is a must. Situated on top of a small hill it allows great views over Golden Bay and over an outstandingly beautiful garden. If you are lucky enough to get the first floor room you´ll have an additional big living room and two balconies. Raylene´s breakfasts are as gorgeous as it´s her way to run her B&B- thank´s a lot, Raylene! By the way- she recommended to us the "Birding Bonanza"- an experience nobody should miss on Stewart Island.

Room Tip: upstair room has 2 balconies and private living room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Josef R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic N, Owner at Glendaruel Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comment! R. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 52 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

Raylene looked after us very well in her beautiful home. The bedroom was comfortable and having our own lounge was a bonus especially with the 2 balconies and views over Golden Bay. The house is surrounded by a lovely garden with rain forest plants and kakas (type of parrot) who come hoping for nuts!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carolinehil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We were looked after very well by Raylene and Mac (the dog). The place is very comfortable and the lounge room a great place to just hang out and look at the view. Raylene cooked a great breakfast and booked tours for us. She also drove us up and down the hill a lot (which was lovely as it was a bit wet). The garden is wonderful and we had up and close experiences with the ka ka (bird).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Belinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed over the recent long weekend as a couple. We flew into Stewart Island and were met from the plane by Raylene who drove us up the hill to Glendaruel (5 mins steep walk up from the town). We had a bedroom in a separate wing of the house to where Raylene lives and it was very private with a big living room with balconies, a good sized bedroom and an en suite bathroom with shower (no bath).

The bedroom could be chilly in winter but soon warmed up with the radiator and electric blanket and there were also extra wool blankets for the bed. The bathroom was clean and well equipped and the shower had great pressure and we always seemed to have hot water.

Breakfast was good with cereals, juice and fresh fruit to start, although our favourite was the homegrown rhubarb compote and fresh natural yoghurt! We also had eggs and bacon which were great. The toast was the only disappointment as it was normal sliced bread and it's nice to have something different on holiday, though it might be difficult to get fresh bread on the island.

What really made our stay though was Raylene. She is extremely helpful without imposing on your privacy. She gave us advice on what to do by email before we arrived and then helped set it all up once we arrived. She even cooked us some of the blue cod we caught when we went fishing (delicious) and then froze and packed the rest for us to take home with us. We enjoyed chatting to her and playing with her dog Macpherson at breakfast and all the suggestions she made for things to do were excellent.

Finally I just want to plug Stewart Island - if you have 2 nights then make the effort and come here. We had an amazing time despite very changeable weather and went fishing (caught loads of blue cod), went kiwi spotting (and saw them!), went to Ulva Island and saw lots of wonderful birds and walked around the headland. It was all thoroughly beautiful and very different to other experiences we have had whilst travelling around NZ.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mountainclamberer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in early March and I can't imagine a nicer place! The hostess, Raylene, did everything you'd expect for us and MORE. We had dinner one night from the cod that some of the guests brought home from a fishing trip. Breakfast couldn't have been better! The beds were extremely comfortable. Coffee and tea are provided in each room. The rooms are extremely tastefully decorated and there is even a special "lounge" for guests, with views of a harbor. Raylene knows everything to be done on the island and everyone who lives on the Island year-round. She is most anxious to be helpful and show all guests a good time. She will meet you at the plane terminal or at the ferry dock and transport you up the hill to her place. THIS IS THE ONLY PLACE TO STAY ON STEWART ISLAND. DON'T EVEN CONSIDER ANYPLACE ELSE! And don't be overwhelmed by the price. Remember that all taxes are included and no tipping is expected and YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR! This is an ideal spot for honeymooners, families, seniors or anyone of any age - except perhaps rowdy fraternity guys. The Island is a wonderful spot to visit with activities for all.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. It depends on the bedding you desire and if you need a bathroom en suite. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank New-World-Journeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed here for three nights and agree with the many other reviews that Raylene is a wonderful hostess and nothing is too much trouble for her. Glendaruel is a magical place and the garden is a real gem, full of colourful plants, trees and birdlife. A perfect place to relax and to explore the local attractions. It was Valentine's Day during our stay and Raylene cooked local seafood for an unforgettable evening meal.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theelectriceric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Raylene looked after us really well & the accommodation & breakfasts great. Beautiful views of the surrounding bush full of bird life including the kakas that fly down to eat from your hand.
Very helpful with info & bookings.This is our first B&B experience which we really loved.
Stewart Island was a great experience-wonderful beaches, lovely people,bush walks all full of bird life.Pub good for blue cod. Kayaking great with Dale, Ulva Island sanctuary a lovely experience. A wonderful 3 days (& great weather!)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quita1519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stewart Island hotels
0.4 mi away
South Sea Hotel
South Sea Hotel
#3 of 3 in Stewart Island
217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Motel
Bay Motel
#1 of 3 in Stewart Island
177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kaka Retreat Motel - Stewart Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sails Ashore Lodge
Sails Ashore Lodge
#6 of 8 in Stewart Island
24 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stewart Island Backpackers
Stewart Island Backpackers
#2 of 10 in Stewart Island
107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kowhai Lane Holiday Home
Kowhai Lane Holiday Home
#6 of 10 in Stewart Island
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendaruel Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendaruel Bed & Breakfast

Address: 38 Golden Bay Road, Stewart Island, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Stewart Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Stewart Island
Price Range: $98 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glendaruel, nestled between Halfmoon Bay and Golden Bay, is ideally situated to help you maximise your time here. Overlooking Paterson Inlet and Ulva Island, it is bordered on two sides by uninterrupted vistas of native forest, alive with birdsong. The village of Oban on one side and the water taxis to Ulva Island Bird Sanctuary on the other are but a few minutes walk away.Glendaruel garden, a fusion of native and exotic plantings, extends over several levels and melds into the forest, which New Zealanders call ‘the bush’. The garden has featured in magazines (New Zealand Gardener, Weekend Gardener and My Home and Garden) and in the book, Great Gardens of New Zealand, by Derek Fell.Birds love it! Tui and kaka dispute the treetops, weka and, increasingly, kiwi patrol the paths. What a thrill it was when a Department of Conservation worker pointed out to me that a kiwi had left his/her calling card in the middle of one of my garden paths!As for me, I love gardening, kayaking, cooking, travelling and languages. Stewart Island has been a preferred holiday destination for almost all my life and my permanent home since 2000. Helping you to make the most of your time on this beautiful island is my focus. I meet you at the ferry or air terminal and take you back at the end of your stay.My Cairn terrier, MacPherson, enthusiastically joins me in extending A Hundred, Thousand Welcomes! and maintaining the special blend of Scottish and Kiwi hospitality that so many of Glendaruel’s guests have commented on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Glendaruel Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendaruel Bed & Breakfast Stewart Island, South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing