We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and cosy”
Review of Jo & Andy's B&B

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stewart Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jo & Andy's B&B
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Friendly owners make this a warm and cosy B&B - good sized rooms, nice bathroom and good breakfast all contribute to making this a good spot to stay. Andy is very knowledgable about the island and keen to share!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fizzcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 16 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stewart Island is a delightful place to visit - and Andy and Jo made it especially welcoming - Andy especially. From the moment we walked into their charming little blue house, with its shelves and shelves of books we knew we'd found a home away form home! The place has a rustic charm, and I mean that in the nicest possible way - from the knitted blanket on the (rather high but super comfy) bed to the lamp shades and the comfy armchairs, and the stove in the kitchen. Breakfast was provided every morning by Andy - a hearty meal of home-baked bread, marmalade and a tasty concoction of porridge, banana and berries - perfect to fortify you for a day of on-foot exploration of Oban and its surrounds. It was nice to chat with our hosts as well. There was nowhere to hang clothes, but the bed was high enough to easily slide suitcases and other luggage out of the way - not that we had much, as we were only staying two nights and had basically brought in two carry bags each.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

I spent just one night with Jo and Andy in their lovely home and wished I could have stayed longer. The room was very comfortable and breakfast was fantastic. I slept so well! Best of all was getting to chat with Jo and Andy, who are so generous with their space and such wonderful people. Be aware that you are very much sharing their home space, and that resources are scarcer and more expensive on Stewart Island than on the South Island, so don't expect the'perks' of a hotel, like hours on the internet or long hot showers... You'll get something much more valuable in your stay here. I'll be back without a doubt!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kath A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Jo and Andy are dear people who can help with all kinds of arrangements and, because of their years here, have inside knowledge about all activities. They are in a great location and serve up a lovely breakfast, complete with homemade bread. But, there is no space to unpack, or hang clothes. The double room is so tiny we really tripped over each other and had to store everything under the bed. The tiny lounge area is not ideal for relaxing either, so we tended to spend our free time elsewhere. Do bring your own bath soap, shampoo and conditioner, as well as a hair dryer if needed. These are not provided here, as they are typically elsewhere. Also, internet is very expensive versus other options.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms, one has two twins and one a double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AdventurePhiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

On a lovely island, here is a lovely B&B with genuinely welcoming and friendly hosts. Knowledgeable and interesting, they made our stay a wondeful experience and helped to make it a great holiday. Plus great home-made and healthy breakfast. Highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Matthew44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

My husband stayed with Jo & Andy 20 years ago on his first trip to NZ. When we went together in Jan 2012, we booked with them again, much to our mutual delight. Jo and Andy are fantastic folks, and their B&B reflects their warmth. Lined with booksbooksbooks, the house itself is endlessly interesting. And for tourists, there's no better source of info: Jo and Andy will call ahead for dinner reservations, a boat to Ulva, a kiwi spotting adventure... whatever you want. And get a massage from Andy! He does excellent work.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pangaean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

location is perfect within minutes of the ferry in half moon bay and across the road from the office for ulva island tours. the b&b has just 2 rooms but both are really homely. Jo and Andy were really helpful even gave us the tip about seeing little blue penguins and other sights to do on stewart island. the breakfast was an experience in itself! really tasty and plentiful. would highly recommend staying here. the beds were all super comfy.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dolphin60_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stewart Island hotels
0.8 mi away
South Sea Hotel
South Sea Hotel
#3 of 3 in Stewart Island
212 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stewart Island Backpackers
Stewart Island Backpackers
#2 of 10 in Stewart Island
103 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kaka Retreat Motel - Stewart Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bay Motel
Bay Motel
#1 of 3 in Stewart Island
177 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sails Ashore Lodge
Sails Ashore Lodge
#5 of 8 in Stewart Island
24 reviews
1.2 mi away
Anchorstone
Anchorstone
#5 of 10 in Stewart Island
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jo & Andy's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jo & Andy's B&B

Address: 22 Main Rd, Stewart Island, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Stewart Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Stewart Island
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Jo & Andy's B&B Stewart Island, South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing