We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
South Sea Hotel dining room and pub
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, Pub, New Zealand, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

food and setting were great. May have caught the staff on a bad day as customer service was below all other experienced on Stewart Isalnd

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    104
    45
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good dining optiion in Stewart Island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

There are no many dining options on Stewart Island. This was our favorite. It is a traditional NZ hotel with public bar, dining room and accommodation. The menu is good. The Blue cod and chips were our favorite but we also had the crayfish and oysters.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun and Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We went to the South Sea Hotel Pub (tavern) on a Sunday night; on the recommendation of our accommodation. Sunday night is "Quiz Night", and as a consequence it was VERY busy. Never-the-less our food arrived promptly, and whilst fairly simple pub food; it was very nice. The staff were cheerful, and helpful; and the quiz-night itself was a definite highlight. Recommended.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesrt_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great oysters!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Girl behind Counter in restaurant was absolutely fantastic, on both occasions we went to eat. Highly impressed with level of service, you would easily see the same level of service in a highly reputable restaurant. Food was fast, delicious and we loved the jars of cakes and biscuits!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank underwaterpetsaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We've had a lot of fish and chips in our lives, but this honestly may have been the best ever! Our waiter was also perfect, with a great sense of humor. We had a wonderful time here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Sea Hotel dining room and pub also viewed

Stewart Island, Southland Region
Stewart Island, Southland Region
 
Stewart Island, Southland Region
Stewart Island, Southland Region
 

Been to South Sea Hotel dining room and pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing