We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DONT FORGET THE MONUMENT!”

Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience
Book In Advance
More Info
$95.10*
and up
Return Ferry to Stewart Island from Bluff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Stewart Island Experience operates daily ferry service between Bluff and Stewart Island all year around. Stewart Island is New Zealand's ultimate eco-tourism destination and the location of Rakiura National Park. During the one hour ferry crossing, keep a look out for the Mollymawks (Albatross) that often follow the vessel. Daily coach connections operate between Bluff and Invercargill, and in summer also to Te Anau and Queenstown (summer only).
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“DONT FORGET THE MONUMENT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

The ferry is a great way to get from Bluff to Stewart Island. Ours was a smooth crossing..takes just an hour. No entertainment on the boat but plenty of tourist brochures to read. Young and pleasant staff sell basic refreshments. Don't forget to drive from the ferry terminal in Bluff up to the lookout which is a steep drive up the hill. A nice path to walk to the lookout and lined with interesting information about the Maori history and local fauna and flora. Don't forget the famous signpost "at the end of the world" - drive south along the coast from the terminal - about 10 minutes. There appears to be a cafe there though closed when we were there. Great photo opportunity at the signpost that indicates distances to major international cities.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MyFrenchLarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    106
    19
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

A very punctual service run by friendly staff. The commentary on board was good and we were pleased to see albatross and other sea birds.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank carolinehil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Crossing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The book-in procedure was smooth and efficient. We booked on line and the interface between on-line and showing up for our sailing was seamless. The staff are knowledgeable and helpful, professional while remaining friendly. Our crossing looked like it may have been rough and at times it was exciting but at no time did we loose faith in our captain and crew's competency.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Efficient and helpful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We booked the ferry via the internet several months before travelling. When we went to check in, we were informed that due to a change in terms and conditions for travel, we would be fully refunded for the value of an Adult Fare that we hadn't needed to pay, which was a very pleasant surprise. The trip itself was fine; the ferries were clean and comfortable; the staff all very helpful. A great trip.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jamesrt_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not for the sea sick”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Bluff is a little under half an hour by car from Invercargill, there is parking available by the ferry terminal, but it is very expensive, I believe the terminal does have its own car park for long stay customers, but I was a day tripper and did not find this out till I had already parked my car in the pricy place.

If you are easily upset by motion sickness then this is not the thing for you.
We set out from Bluff in the relative calm, however just after rounding Lands End into the Foveaux Strait all hell broke loose.

The waves were towering over the height of the ferry and almost every one on board gasped as we rocked and rolled along.

I had taken 2 Sealegs anti-sickness tablets but this was not enough to stop the sea sickness.
Initially I was very worried, not about the sickness but about the boat holding together, but all I did was look at the Captain who appeared perfectly calm and that settled my nerves.

I have to thank the cabin crew whose main job seemed to be taking full bags of sick and replacing them with new empty ones - on behalf of my breakfast, thank you.

The trip lasts about an hour, so be warned!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience also viewed

Stewart Island, Southland Region
Stewart Island, Southland Region
 

Been to Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing