We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa
Open today: 9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Review Highlights
Relaxing solo experience

Amazing experience! A little time alone with a beautiful view and time to relax followed by a... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Oceanseeker1028
,
Minneapolis, Minnesota
via mobile
Great afternoon

What a beautiful experience, views were amazing. Lovely staff, a very special day with a soak in... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
jennifergB7852GT
,
Greater Adelaide, Australia
via mobile
Read all 2,260 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Queenstown
from $180.65
More Info
from $98.53
More Info
from $71.90
More Info
from $387.30
More Info
Reviews (2,260)
Filter reviews
2,260 results
Traveler rating
1,718
364
102
44
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,718
364
102
44
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shotover river private pool ultimate relaxation retractable roof perfect temperature my partner perfect end time slot amazing views new zealand tub session jets mountains nz
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
810 - 815 of 2,260 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2019

This is the second time I've been to the Onsen Pools. The first time we did the Onsen Pool during the day and had an amazing view. The second time we went to celebrate our recent engagement so did the Onsen Pool and massage. Both experiences were perfect - from the shuttle bus, to the snacks, to the atmosphere and friendly service of the place. The massages were excellent and we felt very relaxed afterwards! Could not recommend this place more to people!

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank YarhamN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing U, Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2019

Hi YarhamN,

We’re so happy to hear you chose to celebrate such a special occasion with us, and to know it was your second visit truly makes us proud.

Thank you for your kind words and for giving us a high five for all that we do. It is truly nice to know that our efforts are paying off.

We really look forward to serving you for many years to come

Sincerely,
The Onsen Hot Pools Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2019

We visited the hot pools during our rest days in between Snowboarding, and I couldn’t recommend it enough! The staff are friendly helpful and welcoming, and the service is amazing. The hot pools themselves are such an experience! With a drink and a snack to enjoy whilst you relax and take in the breathtaking view it was just what we needed to break up the snow trip! Loved it! Thank you Chlo for your amazing service!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Kaitlin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing U, Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2019

We are extremely grateful for your review Kaitlin A!

Businesses are mainly about people connecting to people and knowing that our team is on the ball makes us proud. We will pass along your comments to our team. It is words just like these that keep us going.

Come visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
The Onsen Hot Pools Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2019

We visited on our first day arriving in Queenstown which was a lovely and relaxing experience. We had a 7pm booking as I had been unable to secure a sunset or day time booking. Definitely need to book in advance although they are completing renovation upgrades so might be better to book once more pools are available. We booked with the tandeki (snacks) and massage. Overall the experience was wonderful but I still think the price is still quite high for essentially a hot spa, but there is nothing else like it in Queenstown. The service was amazing and we were treated to herbal tea and water in reception after our massage before driving back to our hotel. I prefer the self drive option as the transfers do not always align well with bookings and you may find you are rushed after your treatment or have to wait a little while. I would definitely have preferred a daytime option as mentioned as the dark is romantic and lit by fairylights you cannot enjoy any spectacular mountain views. The spa areas are also well insulated from sound as I could not hear the people either side of us.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank petrinadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing U, Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2019

Hi petrinadee,

We wanted to take a moment to thank you for your review.

Everyone here is working hard to create experiences and deliver first class products that inspire you to continue visiting us, so online feedback is precious to us and we are thankful you took the time to let us know about your experience.

We appreciate that it isn’t always easy to get a booking during this busy period, but we do hope that you visit us again in the near future, and that you’ll get to enjoy our unparalleled views during the day.

Sincerely,
The Onsen Hot Pools Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2019

Onsen hot pools is simply devine. Great service, privacy and very quiet with great views of the shot over rive and only about 10min from queenstown. We got the tandeki package with chocolates, nice to sip a beverage while enjoying the view, and they give you a free drink bottle with this package. Make sure you book ahead, books out months ahead. When driving there, there's no campervan parking and small road sign so stay alert. They seem to have transport to the spa, just check. Overall a great end to a campervan road trip.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Tropicalkate5891
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing U, Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2019

Hi Tropicalkate5891,

We are so delighted you took the time to try us whilst on your road trip.

Your review is valuable to us as we shape our customer strategy and useful to other community members trying to decide if we are a good fit for their needs.
We hope you give us the opportunity to connect with you again next time you are in Queenstown.

Sincerely,
The Onsen Hot Pools Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2019 via mobile

My husband n I had looked after 2 young grandsons for 4 days... skiing sledding snowman building etc etc and we were exhausted.... spa pool... reinvigorated relaxed and slowed us down. Perfect time for a quiet reflection... glass of wine... amazing views...
Thank you!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing U, Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2019

Hi Judith B,

We are extremely grateful for your review. Knowing that your selection was exactly what you needed reminds us of the importance of considering our customer's preferences first in everything that we do.

We hope you make us part of your traditions with your family, and we have the privilege to serve you for many years to come.

Sincerely,
The Onsen Hot Pools Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews