We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“$20 for electronic candles?”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Onsen Hot Pools

Onsen Hot Pools
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: While Queenstown is generally done at full pace, Onsen Hot Pools takes a step back to let you take in the beauty of the surroundings and simply relax. With uninterrupted views across the Shotover Canyon, our Cedar Hot Tubs are heated to 37.8C on warmer days and up to 39.8C during the winter and can accommodate up to four adults. Our natural setting is matched by the pure water captured on its endless journey between the sky and earth to continually fill and refresh the pools. With complimentary transport to and from Queenstown, Onsen Hot Pools is relaxation the natural way.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Stroller parking, Wheelchair access
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“$20 for electronic candles?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

Booked a 9:30pm time slot around three weeks before arriving. I've seen some reviews already about customer service and I will vouch now, the service was excellent for us. From the time of booking, I received very clear details about my booking and how to get to the location. So of people just read instructions clearly, they won't have an issue finding this place, yet in some reviews, it appears some people have no navigational skills.

We arrived about 20 minutes early and greeted at the door by a friendly staff member, we were then escorted down stairs to our room and explained the whole process. No issues here.

I opted for the candle package for an extra $20. On the Onsen website, they explained this package as "The most amazing thing you'll do together during your stay in Queenstown! Surround yourself with the warm glow of candles and be hypnotised as the night sky wheels past slowly overhead".

Well let me tell you, there was no warm glow in these candles as they were all battery operated! I understand there maybe health a safety rules surrounding this, but really? $20 for one of your staff members to flick an on switch on around 25 battery operated candles? There was nothing romantic about this at all. Happy to pay an extra $5-$10 for something like this, but not $20. I'd want the real thing for that much!

All in a all, it was a nice experience, no complaints about the water, appeared clean. Facilities were clean and water temp was just right. Was a nice clear night and nice view of the mountains and stars in the sky. Something I'd only do once.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Miles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    757
    211
    51
    17
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Embrace The Serenity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

After two days of learning to snowboard, our bodies started cramping up and struggling. We thought we were doomed for the rest of the trip until someone mentioned the Onsen Hot Pools. Wowza! Thank you!! An hour of lounging and relaxing in the hot pool while looking out over the river and mountains. Yep, that is serenity at it's finest. The service of collecting you from town and then returning you after your "bath" is faultless.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jasmyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noumea, New Caledonia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Enjoy the hot pools for an hour and the stunning views from the pool
In winter you will plunge with pleasure after the ski for example
We went there with 2 friends and had a fantastic time
It is a very clean place too

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Betty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Yes, this is a splurge, but of the 4 nights we spent in Queenstown we spent 2 of them here and were so glad we did. The first night was clear and the view with the stars was just amazing. When you get into your tub room it is closed off and there is something really fun about hitting the button and watching the wall come up in front of you to reveal the night sky. If you like your water super hot you might be a bit disappointed, but we found it to be the right temperature to allow us to enjoy soaking for the full hour. I would recommend either buying one of the packages that includes beverages, or bringing a water bottle as each room has a tap in it with delicious cold water coming out of it. Also, remember that you need to either pay to rent towels or bring your own. One night we did the candle package and thought it was worth it. How quiet it is really depends on the luck of the draw of who has booked the soaking rooms near you. One time we had near magical silence and the other time we were near a larger, loud group. We appreciated the transport back and forth to town, which was convenient, and saved us a drive down a dark road at night. Overall, if you are a fan of soaking, then you won't want to miss out on this experiences.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LTWT86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Me and my partner went here during the day and could not get over the amazing views!
It is very relaxing and so nice to just sit there and take it all in (while getting warmed up)
I would definately recommend this to anyone wanting to do something relaxing, it might seem a bit expensive but it is definately worth the price. I had read some reviews stating the staff were unfriendly however they seemed fine to us and were very helpful. They also pick you up from town and drop you back if you dont have your own transport which was also handy.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Onsen Hot Pools also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Onsen Hot Pools? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing