We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Queenstown
Open today: 6:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Milford Sound BBQ Experience
from $161.80
More Info
from $135.91
More Info
from $433.62
More Info
Reviews (1,024)
Filter reviews
1,024 results
Traveler rating
941
71
6
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
941
71
6
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small bus small group milford sound day trip te anau big tour buses large coach new zealand mirror lakes fiordland national park boat tour lamb kebab driver guide smaller boat photo stops wealth of information full day tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 1,024 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2020 via mobile

My family, 2 adults and 2 kids aged 7 and 11, had a great day with tour guide and driver Chris who kept us entertained on the drive with local knowledge and stories. The transition from coach to the excellent cruise was easy and the lunch very tasty and plentiful. We were also particularly grateful to Altitude Tours for taking quick action today when the only road out was closed unexpectedly and indefinitely (due to an accident), by promptly booking us all on scenic flights back to Queenstown. We got back safely and on time - we are very lucky and happy to not be stranded in Milford Sound overnight with hundreds of other tourists. And we got an amazing added experience of the flight over the Sound. Even without the flight it would have been a fantastic day. I highly recommend this tour

Thank Caspcel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altitudetours, Front Office Manager at Milford Sound BBQ Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking time to leave a great review! A similar incident in the past closed the tunnel for 2 days and as we didn't want to disrupt your travel plans or risk being stranded overnight, we didn't hesitate in arranging flights out of Milford. We're delighted you enjoyed the tour and the disruption didn't affect your experience to much. Thanks again and we hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Queenstown and NZ!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2020 via mobile

Great scenery, lovely boat, informative tour guide.
Bus trip was fine with few nice stops along the way

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Amal012016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altitudetours, Front Office Manager at Milford Sound BBQ Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking time to leave a review. We're delighted you had a good time on our tour and enjoyed the spectacular scenery Milford has to offer. Enjoy the rest of your time in NZ!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020

A memorable day and evening out with Kim. Great group on our bus. Very smooth transitions to and from each site visit. My brother and children had been before and recommended this as a must do experience. He joined us as it was a different season so it was still exciting. Beautiful scenery that has inspired others to visit New Zealand too.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank LizzyofAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altitudetours, Front Office Manager at Milford Sound BBQ Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving a great review! We're really happy to hear you enjoyed the tour with Kim and she provided a great day for you. Enjoy the rest of your time in NZ!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020 via mobile

This is a really. Long. Great. Tour. If you have a toddler, rent your own car, control your own destiny, and let the rest of us enjoy the wonderful day. My five year old, for example, had a fun time. The folks from the States who were clearly lying about how much their screaming 18 mos. old loved the long journey to New Zealand should have known that if your kid needs a car seat, it’s the wrong activity for you.
That being said, our driver handled the situation with incredible grace. He was informative, talked a great deal about the amazing flora, fauna, and geology, and clearly had a love for the area. He could answer our many questions. It was nice to have multiple stops in the National Park to both stretch our legs and get some fantastic photographs. Our guide was helpful in spotting wildlife. Arriving at the port for the boat, we got great reserved seats and a tasty lunch. There was some sort of food for everyone, and extras for purchase.
The sound was not rough, and we were only in the sea for a few minutes. The views are incredible as you’d expect. Wisely on the drive back, our guide popped in both a really interesting documentary and an appropriate movie. Wi-Fi was incredibly helpful for my three children to tolerate almost hours of driving. There is a nice stop at a café with plenty of food options and bathrooms. If you can’t make it two hours without a bathroom, reconsider. Overall we found it to be one of the more informative, scenic tours we have taken in New Zealand.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank ready2wander03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altitudetours, Front Office Manager at Milford Sound BBQ Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking time to leave a great review. We're delighted you had an enjoyable tour with us and our guide was able to provide a good day for all involved. We hope you enjoy the rest of your time in NZ!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2020 via mobile

From the pick up to drop off it was far more than expected. Luxury transport, excellent guide/driver (Chris) whose knowledge of his country and its scenery was invaluable. A long journey with superb scenery and many stops to take in that scenery. On arrival at Milford Sound it was straight onto the boat to be greeted by friendly knowledgeable staff and an excellent BBQ. The weather superb and the sound lived up to all expectations.
The return was made all the more enjoyable by an informative nature video and an excellent film. An unforgettable experience, thanks to all involved!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank richgcooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altitudetours, Front Office Manager at Milford Sound BBQ Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We're really happy you enjoyed the tour with us and Chris provided an awesome experience for you. Thank you for leaving a great review and we hope you enjoy the rest of your time here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews