We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

Milford Sound BBQ Bus
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Join the BBQ Bus for a unique interactive small group experience to Milford Sound that includes a delicious Kiwi-style BBQ lunch, your Milford Sound boat cruise, and our enthusiastic and engaging driver guide. Our small modern coaches allows access to a wide range of areas for photo opportunities. Summer (November – April) BBQ lunch and scenic cruise included Depart every day (except 25 December, Christmas day). Queenstown 7:20am - 9pm Te Anau 10:30am - 6:30pm Winter (May - October) BBQ lunch on the scenic cruise boat Departing on Sundays, Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays Queenstown 6:50am - 7:30pm Te Anau 9:45am - 5pm Pick up and drop offs from most accommodation outlets in Queenstown available. Te Anau pick up and drop off - 'Kiwi Country' on Miro Street. Sit back and relax in our comfortable, modern coach and take in the experience. The beauty of this trip to Milford Sound is that around every corner is another example of New Zealand's breathtaking natural beauty. With our smaller coaches, we are able to access a wide range of areas for photo opportunities, as well as stop in our uniqie secluded locations within the National Park for our delicious BBQ Lunch. While we prepare your tasty lunch, take a short walk and breathe in the fresh alpine air or simply relax and unwind amidst Fiordland National Parks world famous setting. In Milford Sound we link up with a spectacular scenic cruise operated by Cruise Milford, where the wonders of the area will unfold. This cruise showcases not only the unforgettable scenery of Milford Sound, but also provides an opportunity to see some of the areas most fascinating and beautiful wildlife including dolphins, New Zealand fur seals, Fiordland Crested penguins, and even Whales. The smaller boat and off-peak sail time provides a less crowded, more enjoyable cruise for everyone. Between May and October the BBQ lunch is served on the boat, where people can get out of the cold weather and stay warm and dry. If you are looking for an all inclusive, true Kiwi experience of Milford Sound - You can't go wrong with the Milford Sound BBQ Bus!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We just got home from our 2 week trip to New Zealand and want to say how much we enjoyed the whole country. Our day trip with the BBQ bus and both Nick and Mayumi was just fantastic. We are people who like to drive ourselves (put 3000kms on the rental) but thought it would be fun to try the bus tour. There were only 11 of us on the bus and it was well run, professional and fun. Nick managed to add an engaging commentary and (don't know how he does it) but it did not feel as though he must be repeating himself often. We enjoyed the trip, the lunch and the boat ride as well. Mayumi went with us on the boat- we watched her and when she put her hood up over her hat we knew that we needed to as well or lose our hats to the wind! It was a picture perfect blue sky day and Nick also arranged for us to take a flight back in a fixed wing plane- oh my goodness it was ALL worth it. This day was one of our many highlights and we would not hesitate to recommend them. Even if you are not a "bus tour" type of person- this one does not feel as regimented or overwhelming - just a nice day out with some "friends". Many thanks Nick and Mayumi.

Thank EMtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilfordSoundBBQBus, Owner at Milford Sound BBQ Bus, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Hi Guys,

Thank you very much for the great feedback about your tour with us to Milford Sound.
We especially like reading comments where guests such as yourselves really appreciate our little points of difference with our small group atmosphere and the more interactive type of tour you get with the smaller 'owner operated' tours, so again thanks for your opinions on that.

It was really nice to meet you both on the day and really happy you enjoyed the flight back to Queenstown, it is a great way to cap of the day.

We trust you both enjoyed the rest of your travels and experiences in NZ and we may see you again sometime.

Thanks again for choosing to travel with us and we wish you all the very best.

Kind Regards
Nick & Mayumi Rowcroft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (741)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"small bus"
in 45 reviews
"small group"
in 91 reviews
"milford sound"
in 373 reviews
"day trip"
in 68 reviews
"te anau"
in 46 reviews
"cascade creek"
in 14 reviews
"big tour buses"
in 8 reviews
"large coach"
in 8 reviews
"new zealand"
in 59 reviews
"boat tour"
in 20 reviews
"lamb kebab"
in 10 reviews
"frequent stops"
in 7 reviews
"driver guide"
in 22 reviews
"fiordland national park"
in 15 reviews
"comfortable bus"
in 7 reviews
"smaller boat"
in 12 reviews
"intimate experience"
in 7 reviews
Filter

629 - 633 of 741 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

1. Our guide and driver was a very nice person and very informative as well. He kept everyone engaged in his commentary and conversations...

2. Food on the bus was really good. We are vegetarians and they made special arrangements for us - you need to tell them in advance for it.

3. Milford sound itself has breath-taking scenic beauty..Enroute we stopped at various beautiful places. Esp the place where we had our lunch was really beautiful.. We enjoyed the walk through the bushes...

If you are looking for a tour with some personal touch and a small group - just go for bbq bus over other service providers with big over-crowded coaches...
All in all, we really enjoyed our full day trip to milford sound on bbq bus..

Thank ynandwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilfordSoundBBQBus, Owner at Milford Sound BBQ Bus, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Hi,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your tour to Milford Sound on the BBQ Bus.

Glad you enjoyed our personal service and the small group experience.
Our lunch location at Cascade creek certainly is a great spot and nice to read you enjoyed the bush walk and the vegetarian burger patties.

We trust you enjoyed the rest of your time in NZ.

All the best
Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and I dud the Milford Sound Bbq tour. Prompt pick up time, we embarked on a journey through beautiful country with wonderful information all along the way there and back. Nick was very enthusiastic and very approachable which makes for a truly fun day. I thought the ride would be long, but with the scenery, stops, and commentary, it flew by! The lunch was fresh and delicious with plenty to go around. Perfectly grilled meats, great salads, and priceless views. After lunch, we stopped at a couple other photo spots with no one else around. Great!! Could not recommend this tour anymore. It's a must do!!

Thank LizChicago217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilfordSoundBBQBus, Owner at Milford Sound BBQ Bus, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Hi Liz,

Thank you for taking the time to review your tour to Milford sound on the BBQ Bus.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your day out with us, and in particular to read you enjoyed the BBQ lunch quiet photo stops and the service provided as they are unique aspects of our tour.

It was lovely to meet you both and we may see you again some time.

Wishing you all the very best

Kind Regards
Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed in Milford Sound and took the Tour from there. We had glorious weather and the views were stunning. It was ver well organised as well

Thank BobHart308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilfordSoundBBQBus, Owner at Milford Sound BBQ Bus, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for joining our tour and glad you enjoyed the day with us in Milford Sound.

Kind regards
Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was such a fun excursion for us! I could go on and on about what a great day we had, so just assume that the gist of what I'm saying is that this is a great experience. Milford Sound is one of the most surreal nature landscapes we've ever been to, and the BBQ bus is the perfect way to experience it. It's one of the smaller coaches, so you're travelling around with 15 to 20 people instead of 50. That means that the stops are faster because you're not waiting for a million people to load and unload, and because of that you can make a whole lot more stops. Our driver, Nigel, was extremely friendly and full of knowledge about the area. The bus was small enough that we were all able to ask questions and have a conversation with him and we learned a lot about everything we saw. As if all that wasn't enough, one of the real highlights of the day was the BBQ. My husband and I are country kids, and we love sitting by a creek and eating picnic-style bbq (the chicken skewers were REALLY good). That is something you definitely don't get to experience on most of the tours where they drop you off at some cafeteria for lunch. We would recommend this to anyone planning to go out to Milford Sound, and we wish that more tour companies were like this!

Thank AmyAndDusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilfordSoundBBQBus, Owner at Milford Sound BBQ Bus, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Hi Amy & Dusty,

Thank you very much for your fantastic comments about your experience on the BBQ Bus.

We are only a little family owned company, and we take pride in providing a fun and interactive day tour to Milford Sound. So when we read that you found our driver Nigel really informative and entertaining that makes us really happy!

The concept of the small group tour is that you can get to a few special places en route that the big companies can't access and it is an environment where you can actually have some meaningful discussions with the guide, so its great that you enjoyed that aspect of the trip.

Glad you enjoyed lunch!

Cheers
Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milford Sound BBQ Bus also viewed

 

Been to Milford Sound BBQ Bus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing