We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (439)
Filter reviews
439 results
Traveler rating
171
133
70
40
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
171
133
70
40
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews recycled materials table tennis tee pee veggie garden ping pong fire pit free sauna free milk staff were super friendly min drive water pressure stayed for two nights reception area free shuttle lake and mountains amazing views curtains
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
228 - 233 of 439 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2016 via mobile

Easy place to relax and catch up with friends. Great atmosphere to unwind.
Wouldn't recommend the 'Tantric dining' if you have special dietary requirements. We inquired at the start of the night as we had two diners who cannot eat seafood and we were given 3/4 predominately seafood dishes. We were a tad disappointed, it was an expensive meal to walk away with half our group still hungry having been unable to eat the majority of the dishes.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank oliviabE8304AK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2016 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with restaurant in site with good food. A few minutes from downtown. Peaceful and accommodating yoga and steam rooms available Friendly staff no tv in rooms a place to chill out away from everything

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank cynthiam2915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2016 via mobile

Really enjoyed our first stay here. Usually stay in town, this time we opted for the Sherwood and being slightly out of town. Great decision. Simple rooms, 80s retro scandi revival is the best description. Great beds, linen and toiletries. Recommend the waterfall rooms for view and peace and quiet. Yoga was great following a four day hike. Food was great too.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank NickGRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2016

I get what they are trying to do here with the Eco thing but it shouldn't be at the expense of guests' comfort. We paid $245 a night and there were a number of items which could have made our stay better. We had no way of making real coffee as there was no plunger; there were no tissues and the enamel mugs were beyond the pale....great for a jamboree by the camp fire but not for a civilised cup of tea after a hard day's sightseeing.
The thing that upset us most was the downpipe outside the room which let drips fall in a steady drum beat, so much so that we were unable to sleep as both nights were rainy and we had to sleep on the divans in the living room- they are made up as beds.
The building is an old motel which has been made over in a cheap sort of way and the rooms are way overpriced for what is on offer. And we seem to have paid more than a lot of other people have mentioned. We have paid a lot less for much nicer places on this South Island trip.
This place is much more suited to backpackers, but doesn't have backpacker prices.

Room tip: Some of the rooms are upstairs so enquire if you have issues climbing stairs.
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 171janei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2016 via mobile

Such a cool place- very Melbourne- esque type place! Great service- came here for lunch with 3 friends last weekend! The menu didn't have loads of options (the dinner one looked amazing though) for vegos but the mushroom pits was delicious! We will be back!! :)

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank kirstymoxieyashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews