We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views! Good location and beautiful rooms”
Review of Oaks Club Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Oaks Club Resort
Ranked #35 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2009

Very impressive apartments with incredible views across the lake and of the Remarkables. Only a short stroll to the heart of Queenstown and nice and quiet location.

Rooms were beautiful with modern artwork and finishes. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment which only had one bathroom, but the room was a great price so we were happy.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Porgarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

474 - 480 of 531 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2009

My partner and I wanted to a special place to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary.
We chose this particular resort as it mentioned gas fire places / and private hot pools.
We were sold, and booked 3 nights .. at a very good rate in comparison to other resorts offering less in the way of private facilities.
The location, and the rooms facilities were exceptional, if you can picture snow capped mountains, a clear starry night, your gas fireplace going creating the most warming atmosphere, topped off with a full sized bubbling spa pool on the balconey overlooking the lake.. we were in our element.
The room is unserviced ( which is clearly indicated) and we had no problems with this arrangement.
I have rated the cleanliness on this review as low, this was due to only one thing, which was dishes that were left in the dishwasher. This would be my only niggle with everything, but it would be fair to say that everything else made this such a minor thing, and YES we are planning on returning to one of these rooms again.
It would be fair to remind people that you get what you pay for, if you want one of these rooms pay the extra and you too will be basking in your spa pool on the balconey .. or sitting in front of your fireplace warming your toe ..

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LiveanLaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

Very modern, clean, beautifully decorated, large living room area with floor to ceiling windows overlooking Lake Wakatipu. Large patio, washer and dryer in the premium unit, exceptional value for the price. Word of caution, we rented a 2 bedroom unit, the master had floor to ceiling opening windows, second bedroom had no window and no ventilation which made it quite uncomfortable (late Nov)

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank girllovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

Checked in on the 14th June for 8 nights, to do some skiing and sightseeing. Booked a two bedroom deluxe apartment, and got a great deal direct from their website.

This apartment includes a full kitchen and laundry. We did some cooking and the kitchen had everything that we needed, to prepare just about whatever you desire. The hotel is situated about a 1.4km walk to town. The walk itself is easy (we did it twice), its just that the temperature can be a little nasty at night in winter. Cab fare home was NZ$10.

The apartment (501) was immaculate in appearance and presentation. The living area has a cozy gas fireplace, and opens onto a large balcony overlooking Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables. You can also program the fireplace to turn on before you get home, so that the apartment is warm.

We were allocated a storage locker for ski equipment, and we dried our clothes in the apartment. I did see a drying room on level 5 near the driveway exit, but we didn't need it. The apartment was serviced daily, and they did a great job! After being out all day and coming home a little weary, it was a perfect place to come home to!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony6498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2009

We stayed at Oaks Club with 2 friends and had a 2 bdrm 2 ensuite apartment on the shared balcony level. The apartment was impeccably furnished with 5 star views of Lake Wakatipu and the Remarks. I booked this last minute through Ezibed and paid $200/nt which was cheap cheap for Queenstown! As this was a snow trip the only down side was that there wasn't anywhere to store/dry ski stuff. But we managed to dry most things on the under floor heating in the bathrooms. The location is probably the only thing that may let this place down, its a good 15 minute walk to town which can be a pain in sub zero temps and a hazy head. But for value, guaranteed good rooms and the best views in Queenstown, you really can't go past the Oaks Club.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2009

A 5 star apartment with a gas fireplace, the finest fittings, lovely art & mirrors & cleanliness. I will be coming back. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in Queenstown & it was a result of the comfort of the place where I slept each night & spent time getting ready ect. The views even from the bed were just amazing. The pool idealy situated right outside the master doors leading to the deck. Have already recommended this resort to others & even visitors we had in Queenstown were highly impressed! The only point that fails this hotel is service, you sort of get a feeling that you need to take things into your own hands rather than having them take care of all areas for you. We also had to carry our own bags from reception uphill to our room.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanaa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2009

We stayed here for two nights in May. The place is a little hard to find, being below street level and poorly signed. There is undercover parking with lift access to the lobby It's about a 5 min drive or 15 min walk to town centre.Our room had a beautiful view of the lake, as, I think, did all the rooms. We were in a smaller room (one of the 'A' rooms) which appeared to be an annexe to the larger 2 bed apartments. The room was large and comfortable, separate bedroom with a comfy bed. A small flat - screen TV and a rather in adequate heater in the lounge room. Bathroom was a good size, with a heated floor and an excellent shower. Each room has access to a balcony, and there is a a landscaped area at lake level. These rooms are 'serviced apartment' so the place is not really tourist oriented, though there are plenty of brochures in the lobby, where you can also get internet access. I f we was to stay here again we would do so with friends and use one of the larger, fully appointed, 2 bedroom units, which had full kitchen and laundry, open fires and entertainment centres.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussiguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 mi away
Oaks Shores
Oaks Shores
#38 of 59 in Queenstown
877 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
2.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
1,513 reviews
2 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#25 of 59 in Queenstown
1,489 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#26 of 59 in Queenstown
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Club Resort

Address: 171 - 179 Frankton Road | Frankton, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $158 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views of Lake Wakatipu are just part of the appeal of accommodation at Oaks Club Resort. A luxuriously appointed apartment-style Queenstown hotel, it is conveniently located on Frankton Road, the main road into picturesque and popular Queenstown. The hotel comprises Hotel Rooms, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments in chic, contemporary styling, underfloor heating and in some rooms, full kitchen and laundry facilities and gas fire places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Oaks Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Oaks Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Club Hotel Queenstown
Oaks Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing