We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not happy”
Review of Oaks Club Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oaks Club Resort
Ranked #34 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We were looking forward to a great 4 star experience but were disappointed to find the hotel room was more like a 3 star. When we arrived the room obviously stank of something like a very powerful carpet cleaner and the smell only gradually went over the two days we were there - had to have the window open constantly to its 5" maximum opening. Although we had requested twin beds the room was set up with the two beds together. The room was an 'a' room which meant we got a sideways view of the upper bit of the lake at Grove Arm, and a great view of the empty weed ridden property next door. Couldn't get the television to work - it was only when we could get the lovely lady on desk duty in the morning to show us that we figured how to work it - not a simple on/off switch - and no instructions on how to work it in the room info. Bathroom vanity drawer wouldn't stay closed although I did mention it to reception on the first morning. Laminate peeling away from the cabinet. Dirty behind toilet. Small bath towels. Generally room looked a tad shabby - needed a freshening up - cheap furniture and awful picture, just 4 coat hangers in wardrobe. Would not stay there again - maybe you get a better deal if it's not one of the 'hotel' rooms. The desk staff were lovely though.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 31Chris31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron J, General Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Hello and thankyou for your feedback. Your booking included a request for single beds and I apologise this was not ready for you when you arrived. I note that our housekeeping team corrected this. I apologise for the odour of the cleaning fluids. We should have checked you into an alternative room. I understand the hotel room-type wasn’t what you expected and that our team discussed options with you including a possible move to our sister property – Oaks Shores. We have added information regarding the televisions to ensure all guests are aware. The bathroom drawer and laminate were repaired, unfortunately not until after you had departed. I am pleased you enjoyed your interaction with our front desk team. I hope you stay with us again. Please consider an apartment as they are significantly different to the hotel-style rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
There are newer reviews for Oaks Club Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

249 - 255 of 465 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

THE GOOD
Breathtaking views.
Very convenient location
Well equipped, good size apartments.
Prompt service

THE BAD
Not very clean.
The balcony was full of cigarette butts. (Hasn’t been cleaned).
The dishes were dirty. I guess they have run it through the dish washer, but never bothered to check if they were clean before putting them away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thuperpev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronJeffrey, General Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Hello and thankyou for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed a number of aspects of your stay with us. However I was disappointed to read that you found issues with the cleaning standard. If you have an opportunity I would welcome an email from you with details of your booking (booking name and arrival date or room number). This information will enable me to investigate. My email is hmclub@theoaksgroup.co.nz. Kind Regards, Aaron Jeffrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a hotel style room for four nights. The daily room service was very hit and miss - didn't even empty our bins!

We got four coffee, milk and sugar sachets each day which was no where near enough for two adults - I really don't think it would cost much to provide more.

Our TV and power kept tripping out because our very inconsiderate neighbours (who we could hear very loud and clear through the locked adjoining door) kept using their appliances which were obviously not compatible in NZ electricity. Very annoying for us as the power cabinet was in their room!

We could hear every word said next door and were very tired of smelling them cook.

We thought that staying at an Oaks hotel would be good, but were very disappointed.

Would recommend staying in another hotel which would quite possibly be more affordable too.

If we hadn't prepaid we would have left on the first afternoon. Needless to say - would not return again.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank KellHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron J, General Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Hello and thankyou for your review. I am sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. Our rooms are set up with a standard number of teas/coffees/sugars however we are always happy to provide extra on request. I apologise for the issues with the neighbouring apartment. We spoke with the other guests however we should have offered you the option of moving to another room straight away so you could settle comfortably.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed at Oaks Club for 4 nights last week. The views from our room were nothing short of stunning. The main bedroom and loungeroom had floor to ceiling glass doors which overlooked the lake and snow capped mountains. The apartment had 2 bedrooms both with ensuites - second bedroom is small and dark though - no views. The lounge had a lovely gas log fireplace. Kitchen had all you needed should you desire to cook. The apartment was very clean and very quiet. The apartment was serviced daily - beds made and bathrooms cleaned, bins emptied.Thereception staff were wonderful particularly Junalyn. You can book all activities through tmem at great prices. Although a little out of town, they have a shuttle bus or you can take the walking trail.
Can't wait to stay again

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron J, General Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Kia Ora! Thankyou for your review. I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will share your comments with Junalyn. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Queenstown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights in a two bedroom with ensuites and couldn't fault the room, the magnificent view over lake wakatipu or the location. Could definitely use as a base over winter with underfloor heating in the bathrooms and the gas fireplace the perfect luxuries. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank HelloAFo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron J, General Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Kia Ora. Thankyou for your review. I agree the views are magnificent and the fireplace is a welcome touch, particularly after a day out in the winter chill. Thankyou for staying with us and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Really impressed by the size of the room. Massive bed, lovely bathroom & balcony with fabulous view & little kitchenette. We arrived late night & the receptionist left our keys in a lock box so we could get into the room quick with no-fuss. Gym was a nice addition too. A bit of a walk from town, but would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron J, General Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Hello and thankyou very much for your review. It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We now have a complimentary courtesy van which operates at peak times during the day and evening. It is a convenient way to get to/ from the town centre. We look forward to welcoming you back Oaks Club in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Spent 5 nights here recently in a two bedroom lake view unit. Well furnished with plenty of room for the four of us. Never got sick of the spectacular views through the large expanse of windows. Great kitchen setup with everything you would need for light meals. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Only negative was housekeeping missed us one day and when we got back at 7:00pm there were no new towels. New towels arrived within minutes of an apologetic phone call which really turned a negative into a positive.
Would highly recommend especially if you have a car.

Room Tip: Get a lake view it's worth the extra.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank digifella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron J, General Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Kia Ora. Thankyou for your review. It is fabulous to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I hope you have the opportunity to return to Queenstown and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 mi away
Oaks Shores
Oaks Shores
#39 of 57 in Queenstown
803 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 57 in Queenstown
1,406 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 57 in Queenstown
1,466 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#23 of 57 in Queenstown
892 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 57 in Queenstown
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Club Resort

Address: 171 - 179 Frankton Road | Frankton, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#32 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $134 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views of Lake Wakatipu are just part of the appeal of accommodation at Oaks Club Resort. A luxuriously appointed apartment-style Queenstown hotel, it is conveniently located on Frankton Road, the main road into picturesque and popular Queenstown. The hotel comprises Hotel Rooms, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments in chic, contemporary styling, underfloor heating and in some rooms, full kitchen and laundry facilities and gas fire places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oaks Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Club Hotel Queenstown
Oaks Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing