We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Oaks Club Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oaks Club Resort
Ranked #33 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights over April 25-27 and got an amazing deal of $99p/n for Hotel Room. We weren't expecting much as the discription said NO LAKE VIEW budget option. This hotel was amzing!! Groud floor room with door that stepped straight out onto the Lake. Amazing view!!! Excerllent facilities, clean, new, heating etc. Short drive into town and free parking (Can walk, about 30mins). Not only was the hotel great but the service on check in was perfect. Shay was extremely helpful and friendly. Definately staying here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron J, General Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Hello CW and thankyou for your review. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. I appreciate your recommendation and we look forward to you staying with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    148
    63
    24
    16
See reviews for
158
184
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We got a good price so I was skeptical about what we would get, but it was great. The rooms were all brand new and very modern. Free parking on site (although like all resorts along that road in Queenstown, getting in and out of the park takes some skill). Location was about 15 min by foot to the city area, the walk itself was stunning, in my opinion better than the view you get from Queenstown central itself. Just be aware at night there are NO lights along the waterfront, walking home once I couldn't even see my own feet (You could walk down Frankton road instead, it is lit but nowhere near as scenic).

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason-ASDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron J, General Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hello and thankyou for your review. We are proud of our property and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. The lakeside track to Queenstown and Frankton is a magnificent walk however it is best enjoyed in daylight hours, unless you have a torch! Although as you say the alternative is to walk along Frankton Road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Currently staying at the Oakes club resort with our young family in a two bedroom lake view apartment can not fault accommodation, some minor maintenance issues when we arrived - fire place not working and knobs broken on stovetop but these were fixed promptly once notified.

Good access to town with bus stop outside the hotel. Geat views and comfortable apartments with everything you need.

The one thing that lets this place down is their Internet charges $90 for one week access or 3,000MB but don't be fooled once you use 1,000MB the Internet speed drops to the lowest possible access speed making accessing even the simplest things a pain I the but - total rip off given the low cost for Internet connections these days!

Room Tip: Two bedroom lake view apts great, we stayed in room 804 with easy access to main entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P_Lister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron J, General Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Kia Ora and thankyou for your comments. I am pleased you enjoyed the apartment and that the maintenance issues were attended to promptly. I acknowledge your comments regarding the internet. We will be re-examining the internet service soon which will include a review of the pricing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Nicely tucked along the outskirts of the town centre gave us options to catch a bus (which is just outside the apartment) , or take a slow scenic 20 mins along the lake to town centre.

The apartment was so well furbished that we all simply love it. Modern look, with fully equipped kitchen.

The apartment overseeing the lake is simply jaw dropping! If only the weather wasnt too chilly, we would have spend tons of time outside!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jarain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron J, General Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Hello and thankyou for your feedback. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay. There is a definite chill in the air, winter is coming! I hope you can stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment for 2 nites.

The location and the views of Lake Wakatipu and the mountains from the bedroom as well as the large balcony are fantastic ! What an awesome feeling to wake up and have that sight in front of you.

The hotel itself is a short 15 min beautiful walk to the city centre.

They have a very nice grill on the large balcony for the use of the guests, which ads a wonderful touch to the stay.

I would highly recommend this property for the excellent location and superb value for money !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ask4gautam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron J, General Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thankyou for your review and I appreciate your recommendation. I agree our location and the views are fantastic. I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We recently stayed in a 2 bedroom lake view apartment with spa here, and it was an ideal base for a cycling tour of Otago. The bedrooms were a good size, and the lounge area very comfortable. The beds were also very comfortable and of a good size and quality. The bathrooms are clean and well-maintained, and the showers have excellent water pressure. The views are stunning, but that is not unique, given the beauty of Queenstown. The deck, overlooking the lake, was large, open and very relaxing. This hotel is only 15 minutes walk from town, and is an excellent option for those skiing, cycling, golfing or touring in the area. Definitely worth considering.

Room Tip: Pick a lake view room, and with a jacuzzi if you are doing sport. The soak really takes the ache out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larrydiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron J, General Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Kia Ora! Thankyou for your review. We are fortunate to have such a fantastic location and well appointed apartments. The lake view apartments with a spa on the balcony are sensational! I appreciate your support and I hope you return and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Oaks was one of the few hotels I had shortlisted and I chose this one in the end because of the unavailability / conditions of my other choices.

This is a good hotel in a fantastic location. It is located only 3 minutes away from the city centre and all the food / shopping areas. If you are driving to this hotel the turn-off the main road can be a bit hard to spot especially if you are there for the first time - there is no large signboard to guide you on where to turn. Hotel driveway is also a very steep slope down so take extra care if you drive a large vehicle.

Rooms are fantastic - just like a full apartment with kitchen and dining area. The room is also fitted with floor-to-ceiling windows, providing stunning views of the lake and mountains ahead. Rooms on the same floor also feature a communal balcony area overlooking the lake.

Hotel also doesn't serve any food - pack in, or be prepared to be hungry.

Overall great location, but there is still room for improvement service-wise at the front desk.

Room Tip: Rooms on level 6 feature a communal balcony overlooking the lake and mountains to the rear. Stunning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jewemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron J, General Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
I am really pleased you decided to stay with us. Whilst not in the town you are right we are only a few minutes drive away. Also, the local bus service goes to/from town every 15-20 minutes most of the day and offers discounted prices for our guests. We recommend care on the driveway and there is a maximum height restriction of 2.1 meters to enter the undercover parking area. I agree the apartments provide stunning views of the lake and mountains. We don’t have a restaurant at Club, however Queenstown has a wide variety of fantastic dining out (or delivery) options. I hope you return to Queenstown and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 mi away
Oaks Shores
Oaks Shores
#40 of 58 in Queenstown
789 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,394 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.6 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 58 in Queenstown
887 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Club Resort

Property: Oaks Club Resort
Address: 171 - 179 Frankton Road | Frankton, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#31 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views of Lake Wakatipu are just part of the appeal of accommodation at Oaks Club Resort. A luxuriously appointed apartment-style Queenstown hotel, it is conveniently located on Frankton Road, the main road into picturesque and popular Queenstown. The hotel comprises Hotel Rooms, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments in chic, contemporary styling, underfloor heating and in some rooms, full kitchen and laundry facilities and gas fire places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oaks Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Club Hotel Queenstown
Oaks Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing