We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place. Staff can be better”
Review of Oaks Club Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Oaks Club Resort
Ranked #34 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The location and quality of accomodation is wonderful. We and our 2 kids had a great time living in the resort of 4 nights. The bedrooms and bathrooms are great and the view magnificent. It a 10 minute hike from the center of queenstown but it is worth it. There was a lady at the reception who probably needs more training. She made wrong bookings for the attractions and in general was not too knowledgeable unlike a gentlemen who was much more helpful and knew his way around. The kitchenette is good enough for a simple breakfast and dinner, but, I wonder why no glasses for drinking were available ?

Room Tip: all rooms have lake view but try to get one on the uppoer floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xaviersboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron J, General Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Hello and thankyou for your comments. I am pleased you found the quality of the accommodation to be wonderful. I apologise for the mistakes we made with the tour bookings. The apartments are all equipped with two types of drinking glasses (8 glasses in total). I am unable to explain why our housekeeping team did not replace the glasses. I apologise for this oversight and hope we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

355 - 361 of 531 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

I must say I cannot understand the reviews that say the place is "average" or "poor" or even "terrible", but maybe they are for the rooms which we did not see.... We had a 2 bedroom appartment with lake view. Even for a much higher price it would have been wonderful, but for the cheap price it was rented at (end of november) it was the most incredible place I have ever stayed in (and I've been all over the world) - The lounge is huge and beautifully decorated. The bedrooms are tasteful and large; the kitchen is perfect and the view onto the lake from your enormous private terrace just takes your breath away. The staff at reception were very courteous and helpful. I think, as somebody else mentionned, the only negative point was wifi that had to be payed for in the room (but free at reception) However you can't expect everything at that very low price. I'm not going to give a price in this review (currencies differ and times of year too) but basically it was the same price as two standard motel rooms for our party of four. An excellent deal.
I would go back there anytime and would definitely recommend the place for the 2 bedroom appartments.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frenchkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron J, General Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Hello and thankyou for your support. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the apartment "wonderful" and the staff helpful and courteous. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to you staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Oaks Club Resort is in an idealistic location. We booked a delux two bed appartment with spa for 3 nights. The reception and appartment was first class. However, the kitchen was bare and devoid of any means of drying equipment. A teatowl was eventually delivered by the duty manager himself. The room was never serviced during our stay, despite repeated requests to the duty manager and the house manager. Further requests to the servicing staff themselves were received with laughter.
Rather more seriously was the fact that the spa smelt stagnant and not nice to use.
We would hope that our experience is an isolated case, but it left us dissapointed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janedowle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron J, General Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Hello and thankyou for your feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, however I apologise that there were issues with the housekeeping service. The tea towel should have been in your room for arrival and the apartment should have been serviced, particularly given that you made several requests. We test the spa water to ensure excellent water quality. I have found your booking using your Reviewer Name and will investigate the issues including discussions with the front office and housekeeping teams to ensure they are not repeated. Thankyou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Can't fault this place. Clean, huge lounge area and deck. Bedrooms also spacious. Fully equipped kitchen. The view is to die for. About a 10-15 minute stroll into town along the lake.
Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: 802 is two bedrooms with a massive deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron J, General Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thankyou for your comments. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to you coming back and staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

First trip to NZ Family of 4 2 adults 2 kids aged 9 and 10. This place was chosen specifically from the photos on the web and also having what we needed. We had a 2 bedroom apartment with washer dryer dishwasher and large family sized fridge. The bedrooms were clean warm and cosy the children had their own bathroom with heated floors on the entire apartment. Lots of cupboard space and living area was huge. We had a fireplace that broke a couple of times during our 10 day stay, and it was cold on those days. Short drive into Queenstown definitely get yourself a rental car as it makes the experience more fun as you can go anywhere.!
The only really annoying thing about this place is the car parking and access it is a very tricky entry and steep driveway down into the car park. Other than that it was great !

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayMaker C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron J, General Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Thankyou for your comments. Our apartments are an excellent base to explore the Queenstown region. I am pleased your family enjoyed staying with us. I apologise for the issues with the fireplace. It is a fantastic inclusion in winter. I hope you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Only 1 thing stopped the Oaks Club Resort getting 5 stars. No restaurant on location.
Everything else was fabulous. The views were amazing. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and the service was excellent. All staff were friendly and very accommodating.
It is located about 15 minute walk along the road to the centre of Queenstown, or a short bus ride for $3 which stops right out front, or you can do the 35 minute casual stroll around the lake shore, which is gorgeous and recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darphi239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron J, General Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Kia Ora and thankyou for your comments. The apartments are spacious, comfortable and have "wow" views. I am pleased the team were friendly and accommodating. The walk along the lakeside track to town is sensational. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Queens town - Room no 904 ( Great View and and its with terrace Jacuuzzii facing the Lake ).
Its has amazing view and locations . It is not in the city but worth the view .
Best for Couples .One of the best views .
Dont miss it

Room Tip: Room with terrace and Jaacuuziii . Room no 904
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UDAYSHAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron J, General Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Kia Ora and thankyou for your comments. I am pleased you enjoyed one of our Lakeview Spa apartments. Relaxing around (or in!) the spa is a fabulous way to enjoy the views over Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables mountains. I hope you return to Queenstown and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 mi away
Oaks Shores
Oaks Shores
#38 of 59 in Queenstown
877 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
2.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,513 reviews
2 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#24 of 59 in Queenstown
1,489 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#26 of 59 in Queenstown
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Club Resort

Address: 171 - 179 Frankton Road | Frankton, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $158 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views of Lake Wakatipu are just part of the appeal of accommodation at Oaks Club Resort. A luxuriously appointed apartment-style Queenstown hotel, it is conveniently located on Frankton Road, the main road into picturesque and popular Queenstown. The hotel comprises Hotel Rooms, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments in chic, contemporary styling, underfloor heating and in some rooms, full kitchen and laundry facilities and gas fire places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Oaks Hotels and Resorts, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Oaks Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Club Hotel Queenstown
Oaks Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing