We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax”
Review of Oaks Club Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oaks Club Resort
Ranked #34 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My daughter and I stayed two nights. We really enjoyed being so close to the lake and the lovely views and wished we could have stayed longer. The apartment was clean and comfortable, but I would agree with a previous reviewer that more furniture would be beneficial in addition to the couch (my daughter seemed to take this over). A nice armchair you could turn around to admire the view would be perfect. Only negative was we had some noisey people next door and they seemed to party into the wee hours of the morning.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MataiWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Club Resort. It is great to read that you found your apartment clean and comfortable and you could enjoy the lovely view. We certainly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

347 - 353 of 498 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

I chose Oaks club resort for a recent minibreak to queenstown with the boy. I chose Oaks because it was a good deal at just NZ$160 per night for a modern apartment with lake views and I liked the self catering option if needed. It was a lovely stay and nice to be able to look out at the lake every morning, however I can't help feeling that the resort lacked personal touches. The apartment is long, with 2 bdrooms and the living area having large bifold windows that look out to a shared courtyard with lake and mountain views. It's modern, clean and warm with good shower pressure. The bedroom is at the back of the room and a lot smaller than the living area. It's furnished sparsely, just a 2.5 seater couch, an ottoman and a small table & chairs and a small tv on the wall. If you are not too cosy with the person you're staying with you end up sitting side by side on this small couch. If you don't plan on spending a lot of time in your room, then it's a good option. However there are alternative apartments that I would recommend over this one. For the management, if I could suggest improvements, it would be nice to see little things like salt & pepper in the kitchen, plunger coffee for the plunger and perhaps just a small carton of milk rather than the tiny UHT portions. Also, suitcase stands, there is hardly any room to put your suitcase.

Room Tip: shared courtyard rooms on level 6 restrict the views and also don't offer privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelnat78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you for leaving feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Club Resort. It is great to read that you were happy with the rate and you could enjoy the amazing views. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The 2 bedroom apartment was huge. Quite warm comfy beds. Only reception was a little cool. This apartment had everything you could ask for except free wifi.No free wifi in queenstowm. Would love to stay for a week next time not a night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lana977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Club Resort. We are pleased you found your apartment huge with comfortable beds. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back for longer again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Great apartment with an amazing shared terrace including a BBQ.fantastic views from the room. Staff were very helpful. Would definitely stay here again. Only two small points: my kettle wasn't working so left a note for housekeeping who took it away, but didn't replace it, so had to make tea/coffee in the microwave. And secondly, the large shower heads are wonderful but were installed too low (I'm not overly tall but it was situated at my chin level)

Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
Thank ReenieSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Club. It is wonderful to read that you found your apartment great with fantastic views. We are pleased to hear that you found our staff helpful and that you would stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at the Oaks Club Resort in Aug 2012 for 10 nights. Our first impression as we walked through the door to our two bed apartment was breathtaking. The view was absolutely amazing. The apartment is very clean, modern and well equipped.
The hotel staff had turned on the fireplace for our arrival an made us feel very welcome when we checked in.
This was our third visit to the south island of NZ and by far it was the most enjoyable and memorable thanks to the Oaks.
We had read reviews that the walk into town was too far, it could not have been further from the truth. We regularly walked into Queenstown (two adults and a 4 year old) and it took no longer than 20 minutes. Some days we chose to walk along the lake front via the Queenstown Gardens.
Our family regularly used the apartment facilities to eat in for dinner after a long day on the ski fields so that we could enjoy the magnificent view of the sunsets from our apartment.
I would definitely stay here again and would recommend the Oaks to anyone visiting Queenstown.

Room Tip: Room 401 was magnificent!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kasiakevnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent family holiday at Oaks Club Resort. It is wonderful to read that you were impressed with your apartment and the amazing views and were able to enjoy the leisurely walk into town regularly. We are pleased to read you found your room clean, modern and well equipped and welcoming with the fireplace being on. We look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks Hotels and Resorts again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

After making a quick decision for a week away we found a great rate for a studio unit at Oaks Club. We were not disappointed - the room was spacious, with a view of the lake; a large comfy King bed; fabulous shower (pressure and large shower head - mentioned in other reviews). Everything we could ask for and great value!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fourth_estate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Club Resort in Queenstown. It is wonderful to hear that you chose our hotel to stay at and found it value for money. We are pleased you were able to enjoy the views over the lake and found your apartment spacious. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed in the hotel style room which was far better and larger than we were expecting. A recent renovation was tasteful and well done. The shower is the best I have ever had with the largest shower head I have ever seen. All rooms have great views. We found staff to be extremely helpful and accommodating, printing emails and calling taxis for us as required. The room was a little too warm for us and as there was no external window we had to open the door to the balcony to cool it down at times. The hotel room had a kettle and toaster meaning we could prepare some breakfast. Being walking distance to town along the lake was wonderful.. would stay there again.

Room Tip: The units have views from their windows whereas the hotel style rooms have views from the deck only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gizzmoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Club Resort. It is wonderful to read that you were impressed with your hotel style room and found it more spacious than you expected. We are pleased you found our staff helpful and accommodating and that you were able to enjoy the views. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 mi away
Oaks Shores
Oaks Shores
#39 of 58 in Queenstown
837 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
2.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#17 of 58 in Queenstown
1,494 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.6 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#23 of 58 in Queenstown
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Club Resort

Address: 171 - 179 Frankton Road | Frankton, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#32 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $157 - $494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views of Lake Wakatipu are just part of the appeal of accommodation at Oaks Club Resort. A luxuriously appointed apartment-style Queenstown hotel, it is conveniently located on Frankton Road, the main road into picturesque and popular Queenstown. The hotel comprises Hotel Rooms, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments in chic, contemporary styling, underfloor heating and in some rooms, full kitchen and laundry facilities and gas fire places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Club Hotel Queenstown
Oaks Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing