We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Ski Trip to Queenstown”
Review of Oaks Club Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oaks Club Resort
Ranked #35 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Kiama, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Family Ski Trip to Queenstown”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We recently travelled to Queenstown with our 3 young (10, 5,3) children. We stayed in a 2 bedroom lakeview apartment for 6 nights. The views were amazing!!! The apartment was spacious and well furnished! We had problems with our gas fireplace on the 4th night there. The service we received was great. although they were unable to fix it that night, they equipped us with blow heaters for the night and we were all warm enough. The fireplace was then fixed first thing the next morning, which was great. Overall, we found the apartment very comfortable and the staff extremely helpful and polite. We will definately try and stay here on our next trip to Queenstown!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzlivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent family stay at Oaks Club Resort. It is wonderful to read that you found your 2 bedroom apartment to be spacious and well furnished. We are pleased to read that you were able to get your gas fireplace fixed and our staff were able to provide you with heaters until the next morning. I will pass your comments in regards to our staff onto the Hotel Manager. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    144
    61
    23
    16
See reviews for
149
181
13
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We spent a long time looking at all the Trip Advisor reviews before deciding on the Oaks Club and had booked a two bed apartment for a week whilst we enjoyed the snow.
The street signage for Frankton Road from the airport isn't great (& Google maps wasn't working yet) and we initially turned the wrong way. Even once we were going the right way, it was still quite difficult to find the place as the signage on the main road is very insignificant.
The complex looks quite plain from the road view, but is very modern and attractive once you get inside.
We were very pleased with the apartment. Everything was modern and tasteful. The kids had their own bathroom and there was all the usual kitchen gear including dishwasher and microwave.
Each apartment had its own balcony looking out over Lake Wakatipu to the Remarkable mountains - I never got tired of looking at them. I'd been hoping for snow in downtown Queenstown this time (esp. as it did the last time we were there in November a couple of years ago), that would have been the icing on the viewing cake :o)
The complex is a little way out of town, but it's only about a 20 mins walk if you dont have a car (and you can catch a bus for the return trip which is uphill).
The only thing I was unhappy about was our particular apartment (701) which was above the driveway into the underground carpark. The main bedroom in particular had all the cars going directly under it and you could also see the cars from the living area if you didn't draw the curtains on that side. Fortunately there didn't appear to be too many people coming in late/leaving too early, so it wasn't too disruptive, but would suggest seeking another apartment if you can.
I was also initially concerned about street noise, but we didn't hear anything.
The complex has lockers for skis/snowboards, but you do have to ask. The staff were all very helpful and responsive to any queries.

Room Tip: Go for either a really low or a high floor and avoid apartment 701
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie-holidaylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Club Resort in Queenstown. It is wonderful to read that you found our complex to be modern and attractive and the apartment was tasteful. We are pleased you were able to enjoy the amazing views and it was a shame you didn’t get snow in Queenstown this time. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

WOW WOW WOW, need i say anymore. Waking up to the views of snowy mountains is fanastic. Having coffee overlooking the lake watching the jetboats going past. Our apartments was two bedroom with seperate bathroom facilities in the kids room. Very comfortable all round. dishwasher ment NO washing up YEAH!! we jhave two children 11 & 13. Easy walking distance to the main street, front counter staff very helpful, very enjoyable stay. Only the second time staying at Oaks resorts, but will be joing up as members and recommending it to anyone and everyone. One of the nice things aswell is the privacy between rooms and after going into the mall for dinner, you can come back to quiet, no noise from the busy eateries in town.....:O). Special thanks to SYD, in the fron office for helping us out and dinner recommendations......

Room Tip: we were in room 705 with corner mountain views ..beautifull!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvonne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent family holiday at Oaks Club Resort. We are very pleased you were able to enjoy your apartment and the amazing views of the Remarkable Mountain Ranges and Lake Wakitipu. I will pass your feedback in regards to Syd at the front desk onto the Hotel Manager. We look forward to welcoming you back to Queenstown in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We lucked out on this place having booked it only the day before on line. Walking in to the flat we were all speechless both at the size of the place and the amazing views. The development is very modern and follows that theme inside, open plan, floor to ceiling windows and great fixtures and fittings.

We could easily have stayed here for much longer and the price was excellent value. We won't forget sitting on the large balcony taking in the view across the lake to the mountains sharing a few cold beers, great way to end our first foray to NZ.

Oh, and yes we asked how much the flat might be to buy as there was a for sale sign outside the whole development, the reply from the very helpful receptionist.........a cool 1million dollars..........so be a millionaire for a night.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wookie-taff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Club Resort. It is wonderful to read that we were able to play a part in making your holiday to Queenstown a memorable and enjoyable one. We are pleased you found your apartment to be open with great fixtures and fittings. We agree that sitting out on the balcony taking in the amazing views of the lake and mountains is a truly special moment. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed with family of 5 in July. Had a three bed apartment which was massive. Three bathrooms with heated floors, kitchen and large lounge with fireplace. All newly appointed. Awesome views and an enormous balcony overlooking the lake and mountains. Would recommend this place is best with a car - you can walk to town, but it's a about a 15-20 minute walk compared to a 3 minute drive, which makes a difference with kids. There is undercover parking with lift access. Staff were all friendly. Only nit pick would be no free wifi, although they do sell affordable access packages. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MDavidson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Club Resort in Queenstown. It is wonderful to read that you found your apartment to be very spacious and enjoyed the additional facilities of heated floors and the fireplace. We are pleased you enjoyed the magnificent views of Lake Wakitipu and the Remarkables Mountain Range. We are pleased you found our staff to be friendly and I will pass your comments onto the Hotel Manager. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Firstly we could not believe the views as we drove into Queenstown for the very first time, what a special place it is. Then to arrive at the Oaks Club Resort and walk onto the balcony was just as special as the dive in. As you stand on that balcony the 'space' that surrounds you is immense, hard to describe how you feel part of the scenery in front of you and yet so far away, it was almost surreal. The spa was fantastic and we spent many hours over the 5 nights in it. What a treat to come back from skiing to a hot tub! The longe room was spacious, the kitchen quite adequate, the front bedroom with a large door and window is the pick of the two rooms. The back bedroom lacks good ventilation. The staff were friendly and helpful, we had a large 4wd car and the garage was 'squeezy' but manageable. The 5 min drive to town is easy and there is a 20 min walk into the city. The unit was a little overheated to start with and needed some adjusting with some good advice from the front desk. Overall a great place to stay and suck in the scenery that Queenstown has to offer.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Club Resort. It is wonderful to read that we were able to play a part in making your family holiday a memorable one. We are pleased to read that you were impressed with your apartment and the amazing views Queenstown has to offer. It is a beautiful, scenic part of the world. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Whist this hotel is not in the centre of town it is just a short drive away with easy car access into town or for those who would like to stretch their legs a good walk. I stayed in a one bedroom room with 2 king singles as I was sharing with my sister. We used this hotel as a base as we travelled and explored not only queens town but took day trips to the surrounding areas. I enjoyed the fact that car parking was never a problem at the hotel and the room was a good size for two people. The views from the room are great and you coud easily spend hours watching the scenery so bring your camera. A down side however is that there is no 24 hour or extended hours reception in addition to no room service being available. This wasn't a polem for us as we were happy to Mae toast in the morning and ate out most nights. Don't stay here if you are looking for a hotel that has all the bells and whistles so to speak. A good tip is that there is a large supermarket with easy free car parking only a short drive away back towards the airport.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StellaClay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Club Resort in Queenstown. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our apartment and found it to be comfortable and spacious. We are also glad you were able to take in the amazing views and had a great time exploring the area. Please do stay with us again next time you are visiting Queenstown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 mi away
Oaks Shores
Oaks Shores
#41 of 58 in Queenstown
765 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 58 in Queenstown
872 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.8 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Club Resort

Property: Oaks Club Resort
Address: 171 - 179 Frankton Road | Frankton, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#33 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views of Lake Wakatipu are just part of the appeal of accommodation at Oaks Club Resort. A luxuriously appointed apartment-style Queenstown hotel, it is conveniently located on Frankton Road, the main road into picturesque and popular Queenstown. The hotel comprises Hotel Rooms, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments in chic, contemporary styling, underfloor heating and in some rooms, full kitchen and laundry facilities and gas fire places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Oaks Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Club Hotel Queenstown
Oaks Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing