We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK to start your night” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The World Bar Queenstown - MOVED

The World Bar Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: American, Bar, Southwestern, Pub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are purveyors of amazingly tasty Diner food, all of it is fresh, locally sourced, mostly organic and 100% handmade.We got love for the veggies out there too, with a fine selection of; salads, Quinoa and heavenly deep fried onion rings (Hey, vegetarians can splurge sometimes too). Gluten free items also available.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“OK to start your night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I went here to celebrate my mates 25th birthday. First order at the bar was 5 shots each but the barman refused to sell us them, as the limit was 4. Seriously! So we had to buy 4 then another 1! Crazy!

Great Music, Good atmosphere once it gets busy but where isn't!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarryAinslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theworldbar, Public Relations Manager at The World Bar Queenstown, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
HarryAinslie, glad to hear you enjoyed the music and atmosphere. Sorry about the shot policy, we can assure you that we are only trying to follow the strict local laws concerning drink consumption.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    45
    16
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Teapot cocktails are a winner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

A great bar with cocktails in teapots, live music, a good DJ and fun times to be had. I went here twice and it was packed both times. Definitely recommended if you're up for some serious partying!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MissAS80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirboo North, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cocktails in teapots and great burgers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We celebrated New Years at the World Bar and it really was the place to be with lots of entertainment and fun friendly people. Make sure you try their cocktails in teapots, they are delicious!! We loved the Tropicana but there was something for all tastes. They also make delicious meals, the burgers were juicy and amazing! Highly recommended for a great night out!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Merrily_Merrily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
“worst that awfull get punch by the staff !!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

i went there for a goodbye party and been asked to leave (I was fairly not drunk at all, just 2 drink) when I wasd outside I asked to get to sai goodbye to my friends that for most of them I wont see them again !! they just forced me out in the street ant PUNCH ME IN THE FACE WITH ABSOLUTLY NO REASON !!! as reasult I couldn't reach my friend and had to get home alone and I had to left queenstown with the feeling of not saying goodbye to my friends ... I really can't think of a worst senario and I'm really honest about everything !!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank captaine255122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Travellers galore!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Cheap drinks, cheesy chat up lines and even cheesier music. This is everything you would expect of a backpackers bar.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The World Bar Queenstown also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing