We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small yet cosy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bunker

The Bunker
Ranked #10 of 254 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: European, New Zealand, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hidden away down a back alley in the center of Queenstown behind a rustic old wooden door, The Bunker offers discreet and intimate 'rustic' fine dining – specializing in red meats, game and local produce with a distinctly New Zealand flavour complimented by crackling log fires, intimate atmosphere, personal service and an impressive wine list. Our Cocktail Bar upstairs from the restaurant offers hand crafted classic and modern cocktails and an extensive wine and premium spirit list in a cosy lounge atmoshere which welcomes guests right through to the wee small hours. Wowing locals and visitors alike for over a decade with superb cuisine, friendly and knowledgeable service and a unique atmosphere, The Bunker is certainly a Queenstown experience not to be missed. PRIVATE DINING ROOM AVAILABLE FOR LARGE GROUPSDiscover The Bunker – Queenstown's best kept secret since 1997.
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
416 reviews
276 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Small yet cosy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Roaring fire made the room very hot however the food and service was excellent. I would recommend the duck from the mains menu. It was superb. Not the place to try and get into without a reservation.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jinny57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    634
    199
    44
    28
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

What a great place... outdoor and indoor fireplaces creating the perfect place for a drink after a long day of skiing!! Fantastic wine list.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LeapfrogFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast QLD
2 reviews
“Amazing Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

I have been coming to the Bunker over the past 10 years and it just gets better and better! The upstairs bar and outdoor area have an awsome vibe and the food is always great! This place is always a consistently great experience and I will keep going back every time I visit Queenstown. Definitely worth a visit if you are in Queenstown for awsome food and amazing cocktails!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maddy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Cosy little restaurant with great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

This is a small restaurant with a fireplace in the middle. It is very cosy and great for a romantic night's dinner. Food is great and service is efficient although a bit snobbish. Nonetheless highly recommended for couples but book ahead and ask for a table near the fireplace.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank VHILW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS FOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

The food at this restaurant was amazing and delicious.

The service from our waiter was exceptional and she was very knowledagable about the food and the wine and combinations of both.

We sat in the upstairs dining room and consisted of an 8 person group.
We felt as if we had the whole place to ourselves. It was very intimate.

All the food arrived at the same time despite the large group which is what is exepcted of dining in the category.

The food was good portion sizes and extremely well cooked. The flavours were balanced and complimented each other perfectly.

I would definately returrn to this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Anthony_Ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bunker also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to The Bunker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing