We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal”

Speights Ale House Queenstown
Reserve a Table
RestaurantHub
Ranked #67 of 301 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Speight’s Ale House has always served award winning, traditional kiwi ales and beers, using only the finest quality south island ingredients. Why not taste the whole family of Speight’s locally brewed beers at Queenstowns traditional Kiwi Pub. Our menu has been designed to offer hearty, value for money servings of Kiwi style Pub food. All locally sourced to give you a true south island experience, with all meals expertly matched to one of our superb tap ales! Well known amongst locals for providing the very best in locally sourced Lamb, Venison, beef and famous Blue Cod. See you in the beer garden or by the fire inside for some of New Zealands finest southern hospitality and a true Kiwi dinning experience.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went there with 2 other couples last Tuesday night. A great venue in an easy to get to location, with a good selection of beers on tap. the dinning was very comfortable and very good value.The burger is a real meal, and my partner enjoyed the lamb shanks.
A must stop at dinning experience.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Golfer666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (790)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 790 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was my first visit to this town so this ale house looked very appealing. We were served by a very pleasant young lady. I choose blue cod and it was delicious cooked to perfection. Would recommend this dish which was served with chips.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Sheilalovesholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The last time they didn't do Guinness and now they do and pour it in the proper Irish way - what a treat. The place was packed as there was a private function in the garden. However plenty of room for everyone else. Within the first 10 minutes met people from Ireland and Canada from places where we all had relatives. A small world.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank muntrof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2019 via mobile

Our tour group pre ordered our dinner choices for our one late dinner meal here. Portions were huge and the service was quick. Staff very friendly. Hubby and I had the tomato soup, he had the bangers and mash and I had the chicken in filo. For dessert we both had the chocolate lava cake with ice cream. Very tasty. Easy walk to Heartland Hotel where we were staying.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank cathyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2019

We ate here 2 times on our visit to Queenstown. The first time was sheer luck but we really enjoyed ourselves on the first night. The staff were excellent and liked a bit of banter. The food the pub food with a bit of a twist and the selection was vast. A cool beer outside as the sun is setting around 9 pm. magic

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank williameR8618AE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Speights Ale House Queenstown also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Speights Ale House Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing