We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous dinner by the lake Wakatipu”

Prime Waterfront Restaurant and Bar
Reserve a Table
Ranked #124 of 303 Restaurants in Queenstown
Price range: $6 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Prime Waterfront Restaurant and Bar in Queenstown offers lake-side dining with panoramic views of Queenstown’s lake and mountains. Open daily, Prime welcomes guests for breakfast from 8am, lunch from 12pm and for dinner from 5pm. On sunny afternoons a lake-side table is the ideal spot from which to watch the activities around Queenstown Bay. We are a high quality restaurant and bar serving New Zealand cuisine specializing in a variety of beef cut steak, lamb, venison, duck, fish and vegetarian dishes.
Reviewed July 10, 2018

It was a spontaneous dinner decision for my family, frankly we were lured by the attractive early bird menu. Absolutely no regrets. The ambience of restaurant was great, service was good. The view of lake Wakatipu, the snowcapped mountains and the happenings around the waterfront were just awesome, although we didn't manage to get a table right by the windows. All of us had the fabulous NZ Hereford steaks, except one ordered the Fettucine Carbonara - which was also delicious. The passionfruit and white chocolate cheesecake was so yummy too. We'll definitely be back to Prime the next time we're in Queenstown again.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank 786steph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (777)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 98 of 777 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

Ordered rib eye with a side of truffle mash potato. Wife had filet Mignon with mushroom sauce on the side which was very flavoursome. Kids had steak and very much enjoyed it...and some of ours! Liked the pics on the menu so you could see what was considered rare to well done. Upon saying that, we both ordered medium and the Mignon was definitely a tad rarer. Kids were occupied with activity sheet which was awesome as us adults could actually have a bit of a conversation! We were lucky to get a window seat but we were there early because of the kids so it may be worthwhile taking advantage of the earlier time and the early bird menu specials as from 6pm it really started to fill up.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank vladok212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2018

Recently went there with a large group for dinner. We had to wait a while for our meals but we did not mind as we were bury socialising and when the meals came they were delicious. Not one person in our group of 25 had a complaint. The service was awesome - the waiter very friendly and accommodating. Would definitely recommend.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TwinkD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2018 via mobile

Jazz and Toby provided exceptional customer service and were very welcoming and accommodating, 10/10 would give a pay rise love from Brisbane Australia xoxo

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank tylerjcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2018 via mobile

After 7 wonderful days & nights in Queenstown enjoying beautiful food & wine we decided to try this restaurant on our last night (20/6/18)
Ordered Flintstone steak & breast chicken , both very average considering the hefty $$$ charged . Service was average with 3 different people serving in the space of just over an hour ..
No ambience , so decided to eat and leave , on our departure I still decided to leave a tip and then was given $100 change from $150 bill which the manager & I both realised and was happily returned .... BUT the Biggest disappointment of the night was when opening the door to leave and walk downstairs a voice Yells out to Us with the Words “ YOU COULD OF SHUT THE DOOR!!!!”
What the ..????
I decided to go back and see who yelled this very unprofessional parting quote to 2 people who had Accidentally not shut the door , the Manager Toby was advised and very apologetic but it seems the VOICE was no where to be found but 100% sure it came from from the kitchen which was located right near the stairs and exit door with a black curtain now closed ....
What a great way to treat 2 paying customers and very unprofessional staff attitude , shame on U as I am sure u know who u r!!!
Next visit will definitely not b a visit to this place but back to The Captains Table Restaurant where we received excellent food , service & friendly staff

Date of visit: June 2018
3  Thank fionathompson21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
primeqt, Owner at Prime Waterfront Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2018

I am very sorry this happened to you Fiona.

It was a very cold night that night and after you inadvertently left the door open, the people on table two obviously felt very cold.
We have checked the Cameras and saw that it was they who jumped up to shut the door, and by your account 'yelled' at you.

Yes, Toby was naturally apologetic as he did not immediately know who made whatever the comment was. As you advised, when you came back up the stairs, into the restaurant and confronted our other diners sitting at their table finishing their meal, it was a female voice. Due to your demeanor they wisely decided to deny that it was them. We dont have any females in our kitchen, and the other female front of house member was no where near the door at this time.

At $32 you will find that our chicken dish is one of the cheaper chicken mains in Queenstown. Our steak prices range from a 200g Sirloin for $20 to a beautiful mouthwatering wagyu at $42 . You chose the 500g Flintstone for $39.50. These prices are not hefty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prime Waterfront Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Prime Waterfront Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing