We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere”

Pog Mahones Irish Pub
Ranked #90 of 268 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $22
Cuisines: Irish, Steakhouse, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Pog Mahone's opened in its lakefront location in the heart of Queenstown in 1998 and quickly became a Queenstown icon. The Kiwi and Irish owners wanted to create an authentic Irish atmosphere and so designed and built the pub in Ireland itself then shipped it lock, stock and barrel to New Zealand. At Pogs you can enjoy a lively mix of modern and Celtic music (including regular trad sessions), friendly service and be warmed by open fires in both bars. On the inside it's guaranteed Irish but don't forget to try the sunny lakeside beer garden and balcony from which you can soak up some of New Zealand's most stunning alpine scenery! The menu offers authentic Irish cuisine complimented by contemporary NZ dishes and the world famous Stonegrill dining experience. We recommend you try our signature Beef & Guinness Pie or Irish Stew dishes.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

A busy Irish themed pub in the centre of town. Caffreys and Guiness on draft along with a couple of local beers and ciders. Lots of locals and the food looked good

Thank Chocky1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenzigroup, General Manager at Pog Mahones Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Thanks for the positive review Dave & Chris, great to know you enjoyed the atmosphere & the beer!
If you're ever passing through again we'd love to have you back in.

Thanks
Pog Mahones team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (740)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

526 - 530 of 740 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

The restaurant is upstairs, with a sports bar downstairs with an enormous screen for watching sport. There was a good choice of stone grill meals - the meat/chicken/seafood/all of the above was brought to the table and we cooked our own protein on the grill. There was a choice of sides and sauces. It was good quality protein and the sides were plentiful and various

Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenzigroup, General Manager at Pog Mahones Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Hi Maureen,
Thanks for the review. We're proud of our atmosphere and Stonegrill meals and really glad you enjoyed them too. Look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Queenstown
Cheers
Pog Mahones team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We were holidaying in Queenstown in January and found pog mahones a great pub to visit. Live music at night, the stone grill steaks/the Sunday roasts were all lovely. The terrace outside with the view of the lake and a good pint of Guinness people watching was a great day to remember out of our holiday. We found the staff friendly and a nice atmosphere too. Mary OConnor

Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenzigroup, General Manager at Pog Mahones Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Hi Mary,
We're really pleased you had a good time during your recent visit and that you've taken the time to review us. If you're ever back this way again, we'd love to host you again
Cheers
Pog Mahones Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

More a pub than a restaurant. We combined dinner with some drinks and ate downstairs (I think there is an upstairs restaurant too?). Our group consisted of people aged from 21 up to 65 and all felt comfortable in this easy going Irish themed bar. Food is what was expected from a typical Irish pub, nothing outstanding but nothing bad either. Probably not a good place to bring kids as this pub is usually quite busy and boisterous.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank swignz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenzigroup, General Manager at Pog Mahones Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

We’re glad you enjoyed our friendly welcoming atmosphere. Even though we’re a pub we always want to offer the best and still serve fantastic food. We will continue to work on this in the hope that next time you’re in town we can give you outstanding food and a 5 star experience!
Cheers Pog Mahones team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Had a few beers here it had a good vibe to it and the beer was good. Food was cheap and cheerful and served quickly considering the place was heaving.

Thank barbelbasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenzigroup, General Manager at Pog Mahones Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thanks for the great review. It means a lot that you enjoyed the atmosphere & time with us. Look forward to hosting you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pog Mahones Irish Pub also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Pog Mahones Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing