We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We felt we were treated like royalty”
Review of Lombardi

Lombardi
Ranked #49 of 257 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Pizza, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The views are truly overwhelming from this establishment... lake, mountains, township, and weather. It not only provides the backdrop to handsomely styled interiors, but permeates the very essence of Lombardi’s raison d’être. Three unique spaces comprise this signature hotel restaurant offering an array of dining styles to suit mood and moment.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We felt we were treated like royalty”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

The food and the service are par excellence. As good as , if not better than Daniel in New York. The best hotel food we have ever had and the service is comparable to the food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanyabuchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    62
    22
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our only disappointment in Queenstown”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

We chose this restaurant as we saw it in a leaflet and the the ambiance looked to represent a quality meal. Unfortunately the decor may have tasted better than the menu. Te entree of scallops for $26 were overwhelmed with the taste sweet corn and garnish which appeared to have come straight from a can, The signature dish Venison Cutlet was a challenge to cut through and was tasteless, there was a square brick of what was maybe shredded venison but was so dry that it could have been anything. My wife's tuna - which the waitress kindly informed us was fish when questioned about the preparation was very useful information! And upon further questioning was told it was to be seared, however it was served looking looked like it had been boiled then baked into a grey coloured tragedy.. We only ate a small portion of our meals and this fact was ignored by the waitress when the dishes were cleared, maybe she learned not to open a can of worms (although the worms would at least had flavour and not cost a small fortune) in asking if the meal ok.. This is our only disappointment to our trip to Queenstown. So many other opportunities in town that will not have you feeling ripped off and literally leaving a bad taste in your mouth.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Troy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great restaurant but...”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

The day menu was great , and actually better then the dinner menu in my opinion. Not saying this from the lighter choice perspective , but the Salads section for evening was poor, as I seem to remember , offering only one salad choice. The dessert menu was over the top and seemed more impressed by its ingredients then size and taste or season for that matter. The desserts were mostly frozen or cold and did not reflect the time of year at all. They were more theatrical then packed with good taste. My husband and I are sweet tooths and rather then a frozen tiramisu on stick we would have preferred the real thing along with creme caramel. No pies, cakes or other usual winter warmers on show. Just a whole lot of "too unusual" and weird combinations I am afraid. The entree dips were ok, but nothing that special. Not a fan of pumpkin dip. Main meal was nice.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mklasek69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Amazing Desserts”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Queenstown is not short of fabulous places to eat, and this is one of them. Good wood-fired pizzas. Desserts were wonderful: a coffee foam-filled ball of dark chocolate (oh my!) and a 'cigar' of pastry served with whisky ice cream and presented in a cigar box. Lovely touch of theatre.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kriselda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“St Moritz resturant”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Quite reasonably priced, interesting and excellent food. Staff were friendly and delivered a first class service. Nice decor with a wonderful view of snow capped mountains with a blue lake.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Daz582014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lombardi also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Lombardi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing