We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic winery”

Gibbston Valley Winery Restaurant
Ranked #53 of 257 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Classic winery”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Just clasdic...outdoor courtyard..sheltered sunny..great food and wine...the sharing platters great....never been dissapointed...always vidit when in qtn

Helpful?
Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    99
    33
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
116 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great winery for lunch”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We made an unscheduled stop here and did a wine tasting which was great. Their pinot gris is outstanding and I immediately joined their wine club.

We decided to stay for lunch and although we had no reservation the staff were great and found us a table for two.

Excellent lunch - and we are vegetarians which can sometimes be a problem (how many times we have been given a generic risotto) - and outstanding, friendly service.

Looking forward to receiving my first wines sent to me.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barrye09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
104 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Questionably worth the dollars”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Friendly, knowledgeable and effective staff attempt to make for a good experience.

However, building is acoustically terrible so that more than one person talking starts to build a cacophony of noise. This, coupled with a child friendly environment, means that your top dollars are spoilt by someone else's child when they get bored and become poisonous.

Food was ok but not stunning. Wine good. A reasonable selection of beer for non-wine drinkers.

There is no shuttle from Queenstown centre. So unless one of the group is prepared to be the sober driver you are up for a $160 round trip in a taxi.

Overall, until the noise and transport issues are addressed probably better to stay in Queenstown centre unless you are a wine buff.

Helpful?
1 Thank NZBeerMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrowtown NZ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food Quality You Can Rely On”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Our visit to Gibbston recently was one of many we have enjoyed over nearly 20 years. Simply put, it is a venue you can rely on for an interesting menu & good quality food. We have never ever been subjected to a bad food experience - their standards have been steadfastly maintained & we now regard Gibbston Winery as a place we can safely take visiting friends.
Adding to the enjoyment of our most recent visit was an attentive & engaging serving team. Well done Vinnie & the young ladies who interacted with us.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin Australia
Level Contributor
282 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Location,view, service”
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Great menu options for lunch hard to go past the antipasta for 2. Watch out for the friendly wine dogs, they too would like to share. Great service wether it's a meal cheese or wine tasting a Queenstown must do stop.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank StewyNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gibbston Valley Winery Restaurant also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Gibbston Valley Winery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing