We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A queenstown legend”
Review of Cow Restaurant

Cow Restaurant
Ranked #45 of 257 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A queenstown legend”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Came in for a late lunch on Sunday was not overly packed, service was fast and efficient and Pizza was to die for ...lovely home made base and really tasty, we had two large pizzas the queen vic and the seafood for four of us and was heaps for lunch. Heard it gets really packed for dinner but lunch was great not to loud would recommend . Fire was lovely on a cold day was really warm.had a great atmosphere old school queenstown

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kidz4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    398
    326
    84
    39
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Crowded during dinner and aggressive patrons”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile


As I entered the building I was pushed aside and cutoff by someone rushing for a reservation spot ahead of us. It was tiny inside and so packed . A patron and a server were both rude as we waited for a table. Music was loud . Server was rude about us noticing they exed our reservation off the list by accident when we told her people who came after us were being called. Food was average. Not great pizzas. I never ever want to go back .

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zxcvbnm9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gorgeous meal and cosy atmosphere”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had the Queen vic small pizza as starter, and then a plate of pasta each. The flavors were awesome and we'll definately be back. The only criticism was the music was a touch loud, but not enough to complain, really. We'll be back every time!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flemso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“shared tables”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

very casual dining, quick service and food, limited menu of pizza and pasta - however worth a visit as the ambiance makes the night fly by.

Your table is shared with others. It is great opportunity to make new friends or just laugh with strangers about the days events.

We also had an open fire that made you feel at home and welcomed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Golf_Focus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Honeslty, how is this 4 star?”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Ordered the chilli spaghetti @ $22.
NO FLAVOUR at all, the chicken tasted like it had been cooked for 10 days and the mushrooms were tasteless. I honestly felt ripped off. The place was freezing cold with barely any seating.
Not to mention the service was beyond a joke, the attitude of the guy at the bar made me want to punch him. The girl that served us couldn't have cared less about us.
TERRIBLE! Sorry about the photo - there is no lighting in this tin shed restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brayden T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cow Restaurant also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Cow Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing