We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic night”

Captains Restaurant
Ranked #48 of 305 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, New Zealand, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was our first time at Captains, after only ever hearing great things about the restaurant. It did not disappoint. The food was cooked perfectly and offered very good portion sizes. We really enjoyed the service from Kelly and Rebecca, and would highly recommend to anyone who wants a cosy dining experience.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Camper814288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 1,412 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Everything about Captains Restaurant was perfect from the very professional service to the first class meal and wine. The atmosphere and surroundings are lovely and relaxing and we were made to feel like we were the only customers that our waitress had to serve. Nothing was too much trouble.
My husband ordered the whitebait which he informed me was the best he had tasted and my Medallions of Venison were melt in the mouth.
I highly recommend Captains Restaurant.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nevert00ld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is our favourite restaurant to visit. Incredibly warm service, great food and a very warm atmosphere. Kelly the host always happy to see returning customers. Brilliant experience as always, can’t wait to head back.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank dazzaauld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2019

Had the crayfish, was cooked perfectly. and roasted vege. Shared between two. Next day for lunch had the chowder. Really like this place, one of the best in Queenstown.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JohnDoe517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2019

Nice décor and homely. Friendly efficient staff. Ordered the "Famous" seafood chowder on a cold and rainy day...it arrived just warm and was cold near the end of what could have been a great dish..was it made fresh or reheated...the temperature suggested the latter. Disappointing for a signature dish.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bflow66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captains Restaurant also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Captains Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing