We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, friendly staff”

Captains Restaurant
Ranked #49 of 303 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, New Zealand, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I shared the seafood plate, they were happy to change a few items we didn't like. The staff were very helpful, nice comfortable setting and great music. Will definitely eat there again if we go to Queenstown again.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank michael5melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 1,409 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2019 via mobile

Came here on a recommendation and glad we did, the meal was fantastic! We started with the green lipped mussels which were great, especially the sauce. Our mains were the rack of lamb with roasted potatoes and the salmon, both delicious!

Restaurant atmosphere was comfortable and cozy.

Highly recommend!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank cecorbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2019 via mobile

Fantastic meal in intimate surroundings with great service. Fillet steak was simply superb as were the truffle oil chips that accompanied it.

Also the venison which was tender and tasty and looked great on the plate.

Service was very good as well - the only (minor) criticism was that the desserts didn’t inspire us (cheekily went to Patagonia’s down the road instead).

Would highly recommend this restaurant for anyone looking for quality food at a reasonable price.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank martinwM4386OM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2019 via mobile

How disappointing!
We arrived late due to late taxi service only to be told that our table had been given away.
We booked 6 weeks ago so bitterly disappointed. Very unhelpful lady at the door said she tried to call me but failed to see that calling an Australian number was not going to connect with me.
I confirmed two days earlier so very annoyed especially as we had family with us who had booked an early flight just to make it to this restaurant.
My only impression of this place is that it seemed chaotic and they don't care.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Gherwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainsQT, Manager at Captains Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2019

Hi Gherwig,

thank you for taking the time to leave a review. This a very unfortunate situation as you were 20mins late for your booking. We are a very small 40 seater restaurant and sometimes have tables that do not show up for their booking.

As you were advised on your email confirmation "that we have a 15 minute grace period on our tables. If you are running late or need to make changes to your reservation please email or call the restaurant on 03 441 1633." I also tried to call the phone number on the booking after the 15 minutes as we have successfully called Australian cell numbers from our phone before, and it didn't connect as you admitted later the phone was on flight mode.

We did offer a table for 6 later on in the evening which you refused.

We are very sorry that you were unable to dine with us on that very busy Easter Saturday night. If you wish to speak about this further please do not hesitate to contact me on bookings@captains.co.nz.

Kind regards,

Kelly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2019

1st of all, I would like to thanks the staff to let us use their only 8 seated room.
It because they saw our young girl is still sleeping in the pram at lunchtime.

When doing our city tour and felt cold and a bit hungry, its lunch time. Knowing NZ is good for seafood, I decided to check on Trip advisor and Captains restaurant steak and seafood had a good review with 4.5 stars.

The atmosphere of the restaurant was warm and nice with friendly staff.
We went straight for the mains only. We ordered the seafood chowder, NZ Muzzle, lamb and fish & chips for our kids.

The food we had were great except for our seafood chowder which came out cold maybe due to winter. The waitress came and took the seafood chowder away and heat it up for us. It came out stone hot for us and they worry that we will scald ourselves. With the piping hot temperature, the seafood chowder tastes great and loaded with lots of seafood.

Well, it tastes so good that we ordered another round of seafood chowder. This time the chef made sure it really hot for us.

One of the great meal we had for our South New Zealand round trip.
Giving 5 stars due to your great service.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NahNahGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captains Restaurant also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Captains Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing