We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great brunch”

Captains Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 257 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $24
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Soups, New Zealand, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

We went here for brunch and it was very nice an reasonable value. I had the eggs benedict with smoked salmon and it was delicious. One of our party is coeliac and he had the full breakfast, he asked for gluten free bread and if he could swap his sausages for extra bacon and it was no problem at all.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    715
    314
    69
    32
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

We had a lovely meal at Captains. We had to wait over an hour for our booked table, but it was worth the wait, the food and wine was delicious!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ocean_Traveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinchilla, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

Great ambience - exceptional customer service & the most delicious meal. Great value for money for the quality of the meal

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Went here for a friends birthday. They didn't have a problem with taking our own cake in. We had balloons delivered there and took the cake in early and they put it in the fridge. The table was set up perfectly with balloons, and banners on the walls
As it's a restaurant I should really mention the food too. The food was delicious as was the wine
There were no problems with us hanging around either. I guess they would have kicked us out eventually though
Great restaurant. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“As good as other's review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

The service was excellent and the food amazing, enough said!

Well, we ate here due to reviews found on TripAdvisor and I have to say that the food was really good. We had between us, lamb, beef, seafood and pork and no one had anything but praise for the food.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank oujyosama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captains Restaurant also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Captains Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing