We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful dinner with live music”

Captains Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 257 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, New Zealand, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
336 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner with live music”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We walked in the town center looking for good mussels and lamb. Saw its menu claiming that they won a national award of making lamb so we decided to have a trial. Not at all disappointed so far as we have never had a better lamb done anywhere in NZ than in Captains of Queenstown after 9 days of travel in NZ. When we had dinner, there was a musician performing nearby the restaurant in the open area making our dinner so wonderful and romantic. We are thankful to have picked Captains as our first dinner at NZ and it gave us a wonderful start of our tour. The live mussels and calarami are must-try dishes, too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D_and_G_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    732
    321
    71
    32
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good food in a pleasant atmosphere”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Tried this restaurant late one evening and found the food and service very good. Perhaps a little too gloomy in the room were we were placed but otherwise a pleasant experience. We had walked around the main restaurant scene in town and preferred both the atmosphere and friendly welcome. We avoided any restaurant with 'welcomers' outside the restaurant seemingly too keen for our custom. Recommended for good food and service. Note however that they have a 'sister' restaurant ('Pier 19') on the quayside at Queenstown which we found to be even better but slightly more expensive than Captains Table. Try both, we did.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
149 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Best diner experience in Queenstown, dined here for 3 evenings out of the 8 and was exceptional each time. The food is of high quality, the service is attentitive and the atmosphere is fantastic. This is definently a favourite.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Frequentoztravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
193 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A good dinner in Queenstown”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Better have reservations for this spot or you may have to wait for a table. The waiter was excellent and attentive without interfering. There are lots of choices on the menu and the food was very good, but not outstanding.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“God food but with a fast food service”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Food was good but couldnt help feeling i was in a fast food outlet. Despite it being quiet in the late afternoon the wait staff hurried along the meal and we were paying our bill before we knew where we were. A big let down.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tripoverseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captains Restaurant also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Captains Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing