We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, awesome dining experience”

Captains Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 257 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $24
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Soups, New Zealand, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
“Excellent food, awesome dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I ate lunch at Captains Restaurant on our holiday to Queenstown. A delicious soup of the day and seafood chowder warmed us up. We were so impressed that we returned for a meal that evening - which was just as stunning.
Ten years ago we had a really memorable meal in Florence in Italy. The Captains Restaurant was just as memorable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    715
    314
    69
    32
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Always Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Spent a relaxing weekend in Queenstown enjoying the views and the day spa! I had a lovely breakfast at Captains Retreat that set me up all day. It was that good that I went back that night for dinner!! The food was DIVINE, the service was absolutely fantastic. We dine here any time we are visiting Queenstown as it is a restaurant that you know you will get the best of everything! Thank you.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Warm welcome, lovely setting with log fire and delicious well priced food - the duo of salmon is a dish to remember for many years!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent
Level Contributor
188 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Nice lunch, friendly service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had lunch at Captain’s Restaurant whilst out shopping in Queenstown. My girlfriend had the seafood chowder, and I had the steak baguette with salad and chips. The food was absolutely beautiful, and the service was excellent. Highly Recommended!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Simply lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I ate here on the first night of our honeymoon and liked it so much that we returned on our last night as well. The food was absolutely gorgeous and amazing value for money. The staff were very professional yet also friendly and warm :)
Thank you for two divine meals!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tileandzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captains Restaurant also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Captains Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing